My “lake”

On this morning of a thunder-storm, I sit at home thinking about what it means to Follow 2 Serve.  It has rained for the past two days, creating a “lake” in my front yard.  Looking out over the water, my mind drifts to when Jesus called two of His apostles, Peter and Andrew,  to Follow Him. 

“And Jesus, walking by the Sea of Galilee, saw two brothers, Simon called Peter, and Andrew his brother, casting a net into the sea; for they were fishermen.  Then He said to them, “Follow Me, and I will make you fishers of men.”  (Matthew 4:18-19, NKJV, Thomas Nelson Bibles)

Follow Me is what He instructed and they did.  They left everything to Follow Jesus.  Am I that brave to leave everything? Will I be like them and Follow Jesus without knowing what I would be doing?  I can’t answer that with an honest answer at this moment but when I have served Christ it seems like strings are attached (the requirements I put on the assignment). 

These two brothers, and the others who would also Follow Jesus, would have to learn how to serve.  They learned how to serve by sitting at the feet of Jesus and by watching Him with the people – serving them in their time of need.  I can learn to serve by reading His Word, listening to Him as I sit at His feet, and by watching Him work in this world where people are in need. 

So as the water goes away in my yard, may my yearning to Follow 2 Serve not wash away with it.

Follow along as I learn to Follow 2 Serve,

Lorna


Share/Bookmark

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My “lake”

  1. Rena says:

    Lorna, I’m thrilled that you started a blog! I love this post and am looking forward to more from you. Your header is beautiful and inviting. Keep these posts coming and be sure to give me a nudge when you post!!!
    Happy to follow!
    Rena

Leave a Reply

