Follow: the word

Over the weekend, I kept hearing in my heart to go look up the word Follow, I did not.  However, today when I woke up and heard – look up the word Follow – this time I obeyed. 

After finding my Webster’s New World Dictionary (no, I did not use the internet) my eyes found the word Follow on page 252, after follicle and before follower.  Follow means to:

  • come or go after
  • pursue
  • go along
  • take up
  • result from
  • take as a model; imitate
  • obey
  • watch or listen to closely
  • be interested in developments in, as in politics
  • understand

After reading the definition, I realized what God was trying to tell me over the weekend.  The word Follow applies to Jesus Christ.  He showed me that to Follow Christ means to:

  • Come or go after Him
  • Pursue Him
  • Go along [walk with Him]
  • Take up His Cross
  • Result from [being at His feet]
  • Take Him as a model; imitate Him
  • Obey Him
  • Watch or listen to Him closely
  • Be interested in developments in His Kingdom
  • Understand Him

As I travel on this journey to Follow 2 Serve, may I Follow Christ, the perfect definition and example.  John 1:1* reads, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.  Skip down to the first part of verse 14*, “And the Word became flesh, and dwelt among us.”  In essence, the title of this post should be Follow: the Word

Follow (the Word) 2 Serve

Lorna

*John 1:1 and John 1:14a taken from the New Inductive Study Bible, Updated New American Standard Version, Harvest House Publishers


Share/Bookmark

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Follow and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Follow: the word

  1. Rebecca Lawrence says:

    Very good Lorna. This will be a good summer beginning. I was walking this morning and the LORD prompted me to tell a neighbor it was HIS redemption time. Walking is my time of prayer specifics. It is rare for me to say a “thus saith the Lord” but with this I obeyed as the opportunity was placed right before me. Like He usually does there was more to it and the person was so very ready to hear thanking me and also in awe of the Lord speaking in such a specific way to him directly. If we would just FOLLOW the prompting I wonder how much of His message would spread to others. We definately need to be more sensitive not only to hear but to speak when He prompts. There are times of listening and being still but then there are times to speak. My prayer is Lord cause me to be alert to YOU and give me the Gift of Wisdom to speak Your word and to listen with Your ears.

  2. Ginger says:

    Lorna,
    This is such a beautiful post. May we all learn to follow Him as you have outlined. Thank you so much for visiting and commenting on my post.
    Ginger

  3. Rena says:

    I love this, Lorna.

    Following Him with you!

  4. Andrea says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this with me, Lorna! These posts help me so much.

Leave a Reply

