Hard to Follow

Is it hard to Follow Christ?  Most days it’s not.  It’s not because Following Christ means to give myself away, serving others the way Jesus served them.  It means to die daily to the old person I once was and accept the fact that I am a new creation in Christ Jesus.  It means to get up each day and ask – Lord, what do you want to do through me today?  Listen and then allow Him to do it.  It means to spend time in His word, learning about Him.  It means to be a blessing to others.  It means to be like Him, to treat others as He would treat them.  It means to show others love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. 

Then there are days like yesterday.  Days when I want to go to church but I end up sleeping in because I’m “tired.”

            He says to me – My grace is sufficient for you.

Then there are days when I lose it and the husband and I have a fight.

            My grace is sufficient for you.

Then there are days when the kids are not doing what they’re supposed to be doing.

            My grace is sufficient for you.

Then there are days when I call a friend because on Monday’s we’re praying for something specific and learn that another friend is in the hospital due to a serious injury.

            My grace is sufficient for you.

Then there are days when certain people enter my thoughts and my words are not prayerful.

            My grace is sufficient for you.

Then there are days when I’m in the world trying to be Salt and Light – trying to allow Him to shine through me and I fall short.

            My grace is sufficient for you.

Then there are days when I’m so overloaded that I want to give up.

            My grace is sufficient for you.

Then there are days when I wonder what I’m supposed to be doing.

            My grace is sufficient for you.

Then there are days when it’s easier not to Follow Him.

            My grace is sufficient for you.

Then there are days when all I’ve done is Follow Him.

            My grace is sufficient for you.

Then there are days when I don’t want to Serve Him.

            My grace is sufficient for you.

Then there are days when all I do is Serve Him.

            My grace is sufficient for you.

When Following Christ is Hard, He says, “My Grace is Sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness (2 Corinthians 12:9).  Come to Me all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”  (Matthew 11:28-30)

For more examples of how His grace is sufficient for you while following Him, visit my friend Rena’s blog, Insert Grace Here.

Follow 2 Serve the easy way.

Love, Lorna

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Follow and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hard to Follow

  1. nancy says:

    This one is wonderful!

  2. Amydeanne says:

    it is sufficient! thanks for the reminder! i needed it today!!

  3. Rena says:

    OH, Lorna! You really blessed me! I had no clue this post would end with a link.
    But while I was reading it, I was shouting inside, “YES! YES! YES!!!!” Oh these words, His Word, resounded in my spirit. I started to cry and I wanted to shout! And then you went and put my link!
    Thank you, my friend! Not just for the shout out, but for letting Him use you. I was through tonight. Ready to sign off. Frustrated by life’s current circumstances and very, very recently my not-so-Christ-like reaction to one of those circumstances. And then I chose to stop by your blog. Just one more stop. Lorna, I needed these words tonight more than you could’ve ever known. I’m so grateful you chose to blog, chose to share with us, chose to follow to serve!
    Thank you!!!
    Much love,
    Rena

    • Tears are in my heart knowing that this is not what “I” had planned to write today and how what He wrote blessed you. Continue on your journey – keep going for His grace is sufficient for you and He will give you strength. Go to Him and He will give you peace and comfort – in all circumstances.

      Love, Lorna

  4. Ginger says:

    How beautifuly sweet is His grace through your words of encouragement that remind us to keep going.

    Ty,
    Ginger

Leave a Reply

