The Picture

After researching several different blog-hosting sites, I chose WordPress.com to host this blog.  I had no thought as to what it should look like (other than having pink as its main color) but when I had selected a theme (how the page will look) I was shocked.  What appeared was the picture you see at the top of the page – the one where the man is walking down a path with two sheep in the pasture (I added the sheep that are on the side of this picture).  This picture symbolizes what the theme of this blog is – Follow 2 Serve.  But why sheep?  Sheep:  

they Serve a purpose; they provide fleece (wool), meat, and milk
they are prey animals (“The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy.  John 10:10a)
they have a natural inclination to Follow a leader
they have a tendency to congregate close to other members of a flock (being a member of a local church body)
they are extremely food-oriented (“I am the Bread of Life” John 6:48)
they become stressed when separated from their flock members (Sheep)  

Jesus often speaks of sheep as His followers.  While speaking to the Pharisees, He says,  “Most assuredly, I say to you, he who does not enter the sheepfold by the door, but climbs up some other way, the same is a thief and a robber.  But he who enters by the door is the shepherd of the sheep.  To him the doorkeeper opens, and the sheep hear his voice; and he calls his sheep by name and leads them out.  And when he brings out his own sheep, he goes before them; and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice.  Yet they will by no means follow a stranger, but will flee from him, for they do not know the voice of strangers.”  (John 10:1-5, NKJV, Thomas Nelson Bibles.)  

There have been many times in my life I have listened to the voice of strangers and opened the wrong door allowing the enemy to keep me from the blessing that Jesus had for me.  I followed the stranger.  I served the stranger.  Then one day, I realized that Jesus is “the door of the sheep” (John 10:7) and He is the “good Shepherd, (John 10:11, 14) and that His sheep hear His voice, and He knows them and they Follow Him  (Paraphrase of John 10:27).  

Like the man in the picture, I am confident enough knowing Jesus is the doorkeeper, that when I walk down that Path with Him, Following Him, He will not lead me astray.  Jack Hayford writes in the New Spirit Filled Life Bible an explanation of the word Follow.  

“Follow, akolouetheo; To accompany, go along with, go the same way with, follow one who proceeds.  A is in union with, and keluethos is a road.  Akoloutheo is being on the same roadway with someone.  Since the word was used for soldiers, servants, and pupils, it can easily be transferred to the life of the Christian.”  

His explanation explains the reason the man is walking down the path – he (me) is Following 2 Serve.  Though Jesus is not visually in the picture, I know that He is within me; that I am not walking alone. 

Like sheep, I should be extremely food-oriented, feeding daily on the words of Jesus, the Bread of Life.  When I’m stressed, it’s usually because I’ve separated myself from flock members who provide fellowship, guidance, and support; those flock members are a part of my local church body.  Those are the reasons why I was excited about the picture.  It provides a perfect reminder that as I Follow 2 Serve, I am following along with Jesus as one of His sheep on the Road He takes me.  Even on the days when it’s hard to hear His voice – I know 

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.  He makes me to like down in green pastures. He leads me beside the still waters.  He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over. Surely goodness and mercy hall follow me all the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.”(Psalm 23, NKJV, Thomas Nelson Bibles)

Follow [as a Sheep on the road with Jesus] 2 Serve  

Lorna


Share/Bookmark

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Follow, Serve and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Picture

  1. Sheep being food-oriented—that’s not an insight I’ve ever had before, but it’s perfect! Sheep are so dumb, they will eat themselves right off a cliff. What an awesome parallel to our pursuit of the Word–right off a cliff.

  2. amydeanne says:

    funny, i was just thinking about sheep last night.. we got 2 a few weeks ago and i’m sure learning a lot!

  3. Rena says:

    So true. . . sheep must have a Shepherd to follow and be part of a flock. So many of His sheep today want to separate themselves from the flock. We need each other just as we need Him.
    Great post, Lorna!

Leave a Reply

