Freedom

This photo courtesy of flickr.com/photos/walkadog Beverly & Pack's Photostream

Hamburgers, hotdogs, watermelon, blueberry pie, ice cream, baseball, family gatherings, swimming, flags, and fireworks . . . all sights and sounds of a Fourth of July celebration. All countries have a Fourth of July, but in America – the Fourth of July – means celebrating our Nation’s independence – Independence Day

But what about a personal Independence Day – a “Fourth of July” celebrating the freedom we have in Christ. How often do we partake of the “Food,” spend time with the “Family,” raise the “Flag,” and send up “Fireworks” of Praise? How often do we take for granted that Christ died for us so that we would have freedom? Freedom to Follow? Freedom to Serve? 

Last night, upon arriving at church, this was the message on the sign out front: 

“Freedom to Serve One Another in Love” 

Perfect for this Fourth of July! Because of Christ, we have the Freedom to Serve one another in Love – (Galatians 5:13) only because we have the Freedom to Follow. The soldiers did not fight for our independence selfishly nor did Christ. He followed God’s Will to serve His “Country.” 

“It was for freedom that Christ set us free” (Galatians 5:1a). Christ came, died, and rose from the grave to bring good news to the afflicted, bind up the broken-hearted, proclaim liberty to captives and freedom to prisoners (Isaiah 61:1, Luke 4:18). In that freedom – we are free to serve! 

So, what exactly does that freedom to serve look like this Fourth of July? 

It looks like bringing my sons to be with their father for a week. It looks like cooking a meal to bring to someone who does not have a family. It looks like visiting the zoo with the neighbor’s kids so mom can have some quiet time to herself. It looks like showing that kid who does not have a father how to hit a baseball. It looks like taking time out of the busy schedule we all seem to have to watch the fireworks with friends. It looks like praying for that loved one or friend who is sick and is not able to go to the party. It looks like praying for America’s government officials and leaders. It looks like praying for America. 

Since “where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom” (2 Corinthians 3:17); as a result, whatever-however serving looks like for you and me, the freedom to Serve comes because of the freedom to Follow. So, as we celebrate this Fourth of July, America’s Independence Day, let us Rejoice in the Freedom we have in Christ and in the freedom of being an American that allows us to Worship and Follow Him who Served – freely. Also, let us not forget the men and women of our Military who fight to protect that freedom. 

This Fourth of July I say Thank You to the men and women of the U.S. Armed ForcesArmy, Navy, Air Force, and Marines – for following your heart and serving my country protecting my freedom to Follow 2 Serve. This video and post is for you. 

Lorna 


Share/Bookmark 

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Freedom

  1. Rena says:

    Lorna,
    This post and this Fourth of July especially hits home. Having a son-in-law overseas was not something I could’ve fathomed a year ago. Being a Military Mom was not something I expected over two years ago.

    Freedom to serve, indeed! This post makes me want to shout! The current circumstances in my life–let me just say it–involves a little sister in jail. For the I-don’t-know-time. But He gave us an example to follow. I will serve by loving her. I’ll take those phone calls time and again and love wholeheartedly! I’ll love her daughter, her kids.

    And I’ll be especially thankful for my Lord and Saviour who died that I might be free.

    And for my daughter and son-in-law and all of our Military who pay the price of their own freedom for ours.

    • I know your heart aches each and every time Cammie leaves for duty, and each and every time your mind travels to where your son-in-law is at. Thanks to both of them for serving. I know it’s easier for us to not want to have anything to do with those “troubled” in our lives – but we both know that Christ died not only for us but for them also. Continue on my friend – Christ is your guide.

  2. Alisa says:

    Thanks,Lorna, for your writings. Sounds like are doing intense work with the Lord and I am happy to be a part of this. I gotten something personal from each post Yes All freedom does come from the Lord and I am blessed to be able to follow Him. I’ve been thinking alot lately about serving
    G

Leave a Reply

