To Serve, not to be Served

Picture this:  Jesus and the Disciples standing on the beach on the east side of the Sea of Galilee.  Peter, being the outgoing one, starts a volleyball game.  He throws the volleyball to Jesus – “Here, You Serve.”

I don’t think that was what Jesus was talking about when He said “just as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve . . . (Matthew 20:28)”

What was He talking about then? 

He was talking about True Servanthood.

Read what Fuchsia Pickett has to say about True Servanthood in the New Spirit-Filled Life Bible (Thomas Nelson, Inc.):

Christlikeness leads to servanthood for Jesus came not to be served, but to serve.  See the Savior take a towel and wash His disciples’ feet; then hear Him say that His disciples are called to do the same (John 13:3-5, 14, 15).  The character of a faithful servant reveals devotion to the interests of others; the thoughtfulness of rendering untiring care; the delight in the prosperity, honor, and happiness of someone besides oneself.  A dramatic model of this is the bondservant of the OT (Exodus 21:1-6), serving wholly for love rather than accepting the privilege of his own freedom.  Servanthood is not slavery; it is voluntary – motivated from within by the love of God, not mandated by the style, insistence, or manipulation of subjugation, pressure, guilt, or demand.  It is not cultish, but Christlike—always in the spirit of Him who, being endowed with heaven’s complete authority, chose to take the form of a servant.

Jesus came to earth to Serve.  Period.  He gave His life as an act of Service.  Before that, He gave us plenty of examples of how to serve others:  washing feet, healing, teaching, leading, talking with those who hurt, listening to those who hurt, feeding the 5,000, providing food for the disciples (cast your nets on the other side).

This type of serving is physical work and most of the time I believe that is what needs to be done – go out into the world and Serve others.  True Servanthood.  Serve them with our Time, our Talents, our Gifts, and our Resources; Serve them by giving of ourselves.  However, there are times in our lives when we need Jesus to Serve – ME.  And that He does.

He Serves ME when –

I am sad . . . (John 14)
I don’t feel loved . . . (Romans 8:18-19)
I have sinned . . . (I John 1:8-9)
I face danger. . . (Psalm 91)
I am scared . . . (Psalm 23)
I am worried. . . (Matthew 6-25-34)
I am hurt. . . (Colossians 3:12-17)
I am seeking rest . . . (Matthew 11:25-30)
I am suffering . . . (Romans 8:18-30)
I need courage . . . (Joshua 1)

These are the times when He directs me to His Word so He can Serve me.  These are the times when I am close to burnout because I’ve Served too much.  This is when Jesus says – “Let me Serve you – that’s why I came.  Yes, I became a human and gave My life as a ransom for you so that you can find comfort, peace, and rest in Me.  For I did not come to be Served but to Serve.” 

Having Jesus Serve ME allows me to be refreshed, renewed, and rejuvenated.  He gives the push I need to continue to Serve others.  He tells me the direction I need to go in.  He gives me the reassurance that He is right there Serving others with me.  But, it doesn’t have to be through reading His Word alone.  Recently He served me through lunch with a friend who offered words of encouragement and a listening ear.  She was Serving, I was being Served.  Then later on that afternoon I received an e-mail from a friend who spoke of the kindness she saw while driving in traffic.  Others Serving, she was being Served.    

So I ask – How has Jesus Served you lately?  Leave a comment and let me know – I’d love to have you share your blessing.  (Note:  it is not necessary to leave your last name when you comment.)

Lorna

By the way – my friends and I finished the Ruth:  Loss, Love and Legacy Bible Study and it was great!  I find it interesting though that the book of Ruth ends with the birth of Obed, whose name means “Servant.”  (Well, maybe not the end-end, there is that list of names…)

 Share

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Serve and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to To Serve, not to be Served

  1. Allyson says:

    Great post Lorna! I think that sometimes when Jesus serves US, it makes us want to serve Him even more. I know that when I receive a blessing, I then want to bless others in return. How has Jesus served me lately? So many ways…….allowing me to have a wonderful day with my mother and my daughter the other day, giving my daughter a sense of peace as we met with her new teachers at her new school yesterday, comforting me as I am a little sad about her going back to school and letting me know that I am doing the right thing in allowing her to spread her wings a bit. I feel that He serves me daily when he allows me to wake up and see my child’s beautiful face…..He always gives me one more chance to right any wrongs I have done.

  2. Melissa says:

    You are always such a blessing! Keep serving……because I am being refreshed!

  3. Elizabeth says:

    I used to read Watchman Nee books a lot years ago. He wrote in one of the books that we ought to be refreshing to one another by washing one another’s feet and not necessarily in the physical sense, but in the spiritual. I only understood this after being in New Orleans one hot August and ending up at Lake Ponchatrain and walking down the steps that used to be there. My feet got wet, and I cooled off and I was refreshed and then I understood Watchman Nee’s comment about being refreshing to one another and washing one another’s feet. It is refreshing to me to read about how Jesus is serving my friends and how they are growing in Him.

  4. Amydeanne says:

    i like the list of verses!

  5. Pingback: a call to die – day 3: ruined | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

