The “Trickster”

I want to say that I’ve had a very interesting crazy week. 

First, last weekend was great.  I attended the Beautiful Conference and not only participated in an awesome worship service led by Kari Jobe but heard the powerful message that we are all Beautiful to God (and it’s True) by Angela Thomas.  Then, at church on Sunday, we had a guest speaker but he did not get to preach because God had other plans!  Thank You Pastor and Guest Speaker for being obedient to the Holy Spirit.

Second, Monday came. 

Monday came with my A/C going out (and it’s still out).  Tuesday morning a flat tire.  The boys and I have been sick with sinus infections.  Friday came with one of my sons having a heartache – and when he hurts I hurt.  The list goes on and on and on.  But God is gracious and always gives an answer for what is going on in our lives – sometimes even uses the strangest of things.

Wednesday in my American Literature class {one of my favorite classes this semester}, I learned about a creature named “Trickster.”  Trickster is a sly, cunning figure found in Native American (and others) stories.  Here’s what Wikipedia has to say about the Trickster:

In mythology, and in the study of folklore and religion, a trickster is a god, goddess, spirit, man, woman, or anthropomorphic animal who plays tricks or otherwise disobeys normal rules and conventional behavior . . . The trickster deity breaks the rules of the gods or nature, sometimes maliciously (for example, Loki) but usually, albeit unintentionally, with ultimately positive effects. Often, the rule-breaking takes the form of tricks (e.g. Eris) or thievery.  Tricksters can be cunning or foolish or both; they are often funny even when considered sacred or performing important cultural tasks.”

Hynes and Doty, in Mythical Trickster Figures (1997) state that every trickster has several of the following six traits:

  1. fundamentally ambiguous and anomalous
  2. deceiver and trick-player
  3. shape-shifter
  4. situation-inverter
  5. messenger and imitator of the gods
  6. sacred and lewd bicolor

This “Trickster” sounds an awful lot like the one who comes to steal, kill, and destroy me (John 10:10a). 

In my world – the “Trickster” is Satan. 

The “Trickster” is not happy unless we’re not doing what God has told us to do.  The “Trickster” has us thinking that we’ve done something wrong to deserve what we’ve been dealt, i.e. my crazy week.  He tells us that we’re no good and because we’ve done such and such, we can’t do such and such.  WRONG!

Earlier this week, I was having a very rough day, so I called a friend of mine who reminded me of God’s love for me.  And, that what I was going through (especially after spending such an intimate time with the Lord) could just be a test of my faith – To see how I handled things.  Thank you my Friend for your love, encouragement, and prayers.

Then I remembered the time that Jesus was tempted by the “Trickster.”  He showed me that day how to handle the “Trickster.”  It comes by knowing what the Word of God has to say.  Christ didn’t have to fight him; He didn’t constantly battle thoughts in His mind.  He told him these simple words:

“It is written, ‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word of God’” (Luke 4:4).

“Get behind Me, Satan!  For it is written, ‘You shall worship the Lord your God, and Him only you shall serve’” (Luke 4:8).

Powerful advice!  This means the “Trickster” has no control over me.

So, as I continue on my journey of Following Christ to Serve Christ, when I’m having days like the ones I’ve had this week, I must keep an eye out for the “Trickster.”  He’s cunning and sly and before I realize it, he could take over my entire life if I let him.  However, God always has a plan and will take what is “bad” and turn it into good – for His glory. {I’ve thought about what blessing will come from this week and the only thing I can think of is that after seeing my electric bill – the next one will be smaller. Who know’s what God is up to.}  Therefore, when I recognize that the “Trickster” is bothering me – I must turn to the Lord and ask for Help.  He then says to me – “My daughter, I have come that [you] may have life, and that [you] may have it more abundantly” (John 10:10b), “Come to Me [when] you are weary and burdened and I will give you rest” (Matthew 11:28) . 

Today is Saturday so Hear this “Trickster” – using the words of Jesus:  Get thyself behind me!  My God is God – and I will Follow Him and Serve Him – I live by His word!

Lorna

 Share

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Follow, Serve and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The “Trickster”

  1. Elizabeth says:

    We all need this reminder Lorna, so thanks! Hope this is a better week, and if not, you still know you are loved! Romans 8:28, love you, Elizabeth

  2. Dianne says:

    I too have been tormented by Satan, for months I have been pulled in all directions. I knew something had to change in my life. God was trying to lead me, yet I was being pulled by Satan to not make the change. But God, sent my brother to lead me to the Lord, and I feel that a heavy burden has been lifted off me. I am no longer a lost sheep. God never gives up on us, Thank You , “O Lord” for your never ending love.
    Hope the AC gets fixed.

    • Thank You Jesus for leading my sister Dianne – May she find the peace that only comes fromYou. That ole “Trickster” will try to get us every time but I know that our God is stronger than that. Keep Following. Love ya, Lorna

  3. Pingback: My Prayer | Follow 2 Serve

  4. Amydeanne says:

    oh Lorna, growing up with a lot of knowledge of the traditional trickster stories this speaks volumns to me. thanks for pointing it out!

Leave a Reply

