Mistakes

Sometimes when Following Christ in order to Serve Christ, “mistakes” are made.  Feelings are hurt.  Hearts are broken.  If you’ve spoken to me this week, you know the week I’ve had.  It’s during these times in my life that I can truly see God working in me.  But there was a time, when I ignored these “mistakes” as teaching moments and just held on to the pain and anger and the bad emotions that were attached to them.  Though my week has been rough, somehow today is Friday — a day that represents the day that Christ died for my “mistakes.”  If I choose to wallow in my mistakes and the pain that’s attached, He died in vain.

Thankfully He rose from the grave and lives today.  Therefore, I choose to move on, choose to accept that my “mistakes” are teachable moments from God {He does love you and me}, and pray that when my “mistakes” offend someone, forgiveness can be part of the fixing. 

I close this post with page 74 from Sarah Young’s Dear Jesus:  Seeking His Light” in” Your Life Devotional book. 

Nothing is wasted when you walk close to Me.  Even your mistakes can be recycled into something good, through My transforming grace.

Dear Jesus,

I desperately want to believe that my mistakes can somehow be used for good in Your kingdom.  The truth is, I hate making mistakes!  This attitude can easily translate into hating myself for having messed up.  When I let my mind run freely at such a time, I find myself fantasizing about what might have been—if only had acted or chosen differently.  I definitely need a strong dose of Your transforming grace!

            Beloved, the best strategy for accepting yourself, even when you make mistakes, is living close to Me.  This nearness helps you see things from My perspective.  You tend to view yourself as someone who should be almost perfect, making very few errors.  My perspective is quite different:  I see you as My beloved child—weak in many ways, prone to wandering from Me.  However, your weakness and waywardness cannot diminish My constant Love for you.  Moreover, My infinite wisdom enables Me to take your errors and weave them into an intricate work that is good.

            You need to accept not only yourself but also the choices you have made.  Fantasizing about having done things differently is a time-wasting trap.  It is impossible to live close to Me while you’re indulging in such unreality.  The more you fantasize, the further from Me you wander.  When you realize this has happened, turn around and run back to Me!  Take time to talk with Me and relax in My Presence.  Your perfectionist tendencies will dissolve as you soak in My transforming grace.

Lord Jesus, as hard as it was to read and type those words, I thank You for Your transforming Grace.  Since I know that this week I’ve offended someone, and also know that I might not know who else I might have offended, I ask for forgiveness – not only from You but from them also. 

Lorna

 

Share

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Follow, Serve and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mistakes

  1. Elizabeth says:

    It hurts to grow Lorna, but it certainly sounds as if you are doing just that. We all of us have lots of rough edges and when we ask God to make us into His image those rough edges have to come off…because one day we are all going to be joined together to make up the temple of God.

    I know how much you love your sons and want only good things for them, but accept them no matter what, and God loves us even more. We are His workmanship, so let Him work on you my friend, love you, ee

  2. Rena says:

    Lorna, this is so powerful!!! I’ve been there too often. But forgiveness is essential. And accepting that He WILL work ALL things together for our good. It’s difficult for us to swallow but it is truth. I’ve lost so much time in those regretful, often embarrassing moments. Oh thank God for His grace! There’s so much peace in resting in Him and knowing that we just can’t fix it. Thanks so much for sharing.

  3. Dianne says:

    Lorna, this is a powerful message! We have all experienced times in our lives, where for a moment we lose site of God, we feel alone and we make mistakes, but remember he is always with us and will forgive us, His arms are always open to receive us. Each time we mess up, is a growth experience for us, I have hit rock bottom many times. Even though I yelled at God, and asked him, why this happened, I always came out a stronger person, God, is molding us into the person he wants us to be.
    Love You,
    Dianne

  4. Pingback: Driving | Follow 2 Serve

  5. Pingback: a call to die – day 12: death . . . and your good clothes | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

