I Need the Light

There is an ongoing discussion around my house between my husband and me about this one particular night-light.  I do not want it on and he does.  I prefer to sleep in the darkest of the dark and he prefers not to stub his toe.  Therefore, we compromise – he can have it as long as he puts in the lowest wattage of light bulbs and I get to hide it.  It is not that I do not like the night-light – I love light – I just love sleeping in the dark more. 

However, I need the light, both natural and artificial.  All of us do.  Light helps us see things in the dark and keeps us from stubbing our toes.  Light is good for our bodies – it

Wakes us up – Boosts our concentration – Balances our daily energy levels – Boosts our moods – Curbs our appetites and Fights disease

Light . . . according to my Understanding Art textbook . . . is “fascinating stuff – it radiates – it illuminates – it dazzles – it glows – it beckons like a beacon.”

Technically, it is the “electromagnetic radiation to which the organs of sight react, ranging in wavelength from about 400 to 700 nm and propagated at a speed of 186,282 mi./sec (299,972 km/sec), considered variously as a wave, corpuscular, or quantum phenomenon” (Light). {That is for you Thad!}

I prefer this definition of light – the only one I really need:  “I am the light of the world” – Jesus!

Jesus – the Light of the World!   I need this Light – The Light.

This Light keeps me from walking in darkness (John 8:12) and lights the path that I am walking on (Psalm 119:105) while Following Him. 

This Light wakes me up, boosts my concentration, balances my daily energy levels, boosts my mood, curbs my [physical] appetite but increases my [spiritual] appetite, and fights diseases. 

This Light is fascinating stuff – He radiates – He illuminates – He dazzles – He glows – He beckons like a Beacon.  He created the electromagnetic radiation to which the organs of sight react (Genesis 1:3).

This Light is my night-light.  And, I will not be hiding Him.

Following the Light,

Lorna

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Follow and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Need the Light

  1. Rena says:

    Awesome, Lorna! LOVED this!

Leave a Reply

