Reading Room

I love to read!  I can’t remember a time in my life when I wasn’t reading.  Whether it’s reading for school or just for fun – I love to read. 

I had no intention on writing about reading this week . . .  I thought I was going to write about the recent poll that was published last week about people knowing or not knowing about different religions {if you want to read the report click here) but then I read a book.

Several weeks ago, I saw it advertised in the Book Page but didn’t immediately go out and buy it.  It has a simple cover – the title written in a child’s handwriting.  I saw it again while at Books-A-Million last week and thought I would buy it but couldn’t . . . it wasn’t time to read it so I bought Living in Love by James and Betty Robison and Promise Me by Richard Paul Evans instead. 

Then on Wednesday of this week, before having lunch with a friend, I went back to Books-A-Million, bought it, and began reading it.  It’s not my typical type of book to read . . . I usually read books by authors like Karen Kingsbury, Richard Paul Evans, Neta Jackson, and Jan Karon {these just happen to be my favorite authors}.  Since I knew what the book was about, a story taken straight out of the news, I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to read it – but I knew I was supposed to read it.  I was to read ROOM.

Here’s a brief synopsis of Room by Emma Donoghue (taken from Roomthebook.com website).

To five-year-old-Jack, Room is the world….

It’s where he was born, it’s where he and his Ma eat and sleep and play and learn.  There are endless wonders that let loose Jack’s imagination-the snake under Bed that he constructs out of eggshells, the imaginary world projected through the TV, the coziness of Wardrobe beneath Ma’s clothes, where she tucks him in safely at night, in case Old Nick comes.

Room is home to Jack, but to Ma, it’s the prison where she’s been held since she was nineteen-for seven long years.  Through her fierce love for her son, she has created a life for him in that eleven-by-eleven-foot space. But Jack’s curiosity is building alongside her own desperation—and she knows that Room cannot contain either indefinitely….

Told in the inventive, funny, and poignant voice of Jack, Room is a celebration of resilience-and a powerful story of a mother and son whose love lets them survive the impossible.

SPOILER ALERT:  The rest of this post contains quotes and thoughts from the outcome of the book. 

 

Throughout my reading of Room, I still couldn’t figure out why I had to read it.  Other than the fact that the book shows a mother’s love for her child, I was thinking this is just another good book.  Then I read these words on page 293.

“The inner child, trapped in our personal Room one oh one,”   

For years I was trapped in “Room one oh one.”  My Room was full of hurt, anger, and despair.  Though my situation was not like Room, I still held myself in a Room – a prison so to speak.  I might have escaped the situation I was in but inside my head I was stuck in “Room one oh one.”

Then Jesus came, opened the door, and let me out  . . . and as Jack says, “Maybe it’s not Room if Door’s open” {I agree Jack}.  That is the good news of salvation . . . Jesus Himself said of Himself that He came because

The Spirit of the Lord is upon Me, Because He has anointed Me to preach the gospel to the poor; He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives and recovery of sight to the blind, to set a liberty those who are oppressed; (Luke 4:18).

Throughout my journey of Following Jesus, I often find myself closing the door to my Room and when I do, I’m not Serving Jesus.  Reading Room has opened my eyes to what it means to Follow 2 Serve.  It is a book about Surviving and eventually being  Rescued . . . I know in my heart that it was Jesus who Rescued me and how my life is different after being Rescued.

Like Jack, I have to learn to live in a world that is different from my Room . . . but I know that Jesus is there each step of the way as I Follow 2 Serve Him and that one day I’ll be in the most Glorious Room of all.

Lorna

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Reading Room

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Excellent read Lorna, I will look for this book, makes me think of Psalm 18: 19, read it in the Old King James…

  2. Becky says:

    Very good Lorna….reading is certainly a key to the whole world not just one room. Books are like travel agents taking us as tour guides into places we amy never be able to physically travel to. A place where our minds can explore and dig…a field of dreams, thoughts and hopes. Becky

  3. Dianne says:

    It is amazing to me how God always leads us into what he wants us to do, we might not want to, but He will win out and it is always a good choice for us. The book sounds wonderful, I too like to read. I will be looking for the book.
    Dianne

  4. Pingback: Driving | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

