Dancing Leaves

This past Monday as I was standing at my kitchen sink looking out the window I was thinking about the Living Beyond Yourself study I am doing and wondering when I would be able to do today’s lesson – then I saw the leaves.

He says, See the leaves – the ones that just fell off the tree.

Yes, I say.

They’re dancing.

I see. 

Why are they dancing?

I don’t know.

They’re dancing because they realize they have another job to do.

What job?

Fertilizing My earth.

Fertilizing?

Yes – you see – It’s part of the growth process.  The leaves fall to the ground {Yes I know they were beautiful on the tree, especially when they change colors} so that they can fertilize the earth so the grass could grow next spring.

How are they fertilizer?

Consider how fertilizer works.  Fertilizer is used to replenish the nutrients lost or missing from the soil.  In nature, the nutrients often comes from the decay of plants that have died.  

Ok – but that’s in nature – what does that have to do with me?

Well – during the “fall” season, I allow the leaves – things that are in your life that have died – or are no longer necessary at this time in your life – to fall away so that they can provide the necessary nutrients for you to do what I have planned for you in the spring.  During this time those things are fertilizer.  But remember – new leaves will grow next spring and the grass will be stronger and brighter having its nutrients replaced by the leaves.

I see Lord  – In that case, let more Dancing Leaves  fall.

 

I’ve thought about that conversation this week and had to ask myself – What things has the Lord recently removed from my life that are just a temporary absence that He is using to fertilize my heart for new growth?

Could it be the two classes I dropped?  Or could it be the book that I started reading that I couldn’t finish?

Could it be the absence of a friend? Or could it be something that I used to do but can’t find the time to do at this time?  

Could it be work that I’m not doing or service project I’m no longer involved in? 

Or could it be a time when I feel that I don’t hear from Him which brings me deeper into His Word (the missing nutrients?)?

Whatever it may be – I now know the leaves fell away for a reason – that reason – to fertilize my heart (the soil) to receive new growth.

Lord – continue to remove those leaves that are not needed in my life and use them as fertilizer to grow me, to energize me, to provide nutrients for my weakness in order that I may continue to Follow 2 Serve You. In the name of your Son, Jesus, Amen.

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dancing Leaves

  1. Elizabeth says:

    This was beautiful Lorna, thanks for sharing.

  2. Rena says:

    This is precisely where I am. Exactly what I have been feeling, experiencing. You penned my thoughts. Lorna, it seems all that I see lately is seemingly death. The death of a winter that is on its way. The Lord spoke to me the other day, “spring is coming.”
    I’m so in awe of this post, His Words to you. Thank you, my friend, for sharing!!!

    • You’re welcome my friend. Yes – Spring is Coming!!! and with that the reminder of the Resurrection of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ – who died for you and me (and others) so that we can live. Love ya, Lorna

  3. Dianne says:

    It never seems to amaze me that God has a reason for everything he does. I never thought much about a falling leaf, but now I know it too has a job to do. We too must follow the lead of the leaf, and let God have control of our body so He can mold us into the person He wants us to be.
    Thanks Lorna, the message was wonderful
    Dianne

Leave a Reply

