Time – Please Stand Still

This coming Sunday I change the clocks back an hour in my house (actually I change them on Saturday night so I don’t have to get up at 2 AM).  I get to sleep (maybe) an extra hour because our government decided to have this program called Daylight Savings Time.  But I don’t need time to change – I need it to stand still.

Why?  Because this week has been an emotional roller coaster for me.   

This past Sunday, I visited the church I left earlier in the year to be with my friend, B, who had a birthday last week {Happy Birthday again} and to attend a workshop on what my name means {it means Lioness in German}.  That day brought emotions I didn’t know I had.

Monday was great – I laughed when it rained Monday night during the time that was meant for “trick-or-treat” where I live {no, we don’t participate in “trick-or-treat”, I just thought it was funny that God – not the government – controls the “holidays.”  Monday, in case you don’t know, was All Saints Day}. 

Tuesday is when my world started to go downhill.  While Tuesday during the day was good (learned some interesting stuff in my Art class) – Tuesday evening – my heart sank when I learned that one of the professors at the college I attend passed away on Sunday {his memorial service is this coming Sunday}.  Not only was he my advisor and mentor, he was my friend – I will miss you Mr. P.

Wednesday morning I had coffee with a friend; we talked about the book she borrowed, politics, and laughed about the episode that occurred earlier in the morning with her.  Then Wednesday afternoon, I learned of a traumatic experience that another one of my friends had gone through {love ya my friend}. 

Thursday, was another emotional day – I was back on campus and Mr. P was not at his desk editing papers.  Then I came home after picking my youngest up from band practice and crashed on the couch because I couldn’t quit crying.

And for tonight, I really need time to stand still, because it will be the last time that my oldest will play in the band at a high school football game.  (Of course, time standing still might also help us win.)

I’m thinking, could this week get any worse – I feel like I can’t win the battle – this emotional battle I am fighting.  I feel like I’ve been winning and losing for weeks but there’s more to fight.  I know that God is here with me – I just need time to stand still so I can catch up.  Then these words come to mind – time did stand still before. 

Recorded in Joshua, Chapter 10 verses 7-14, is the inspiration I need to continue.

So Joshua ascended from Gilgal, he and all the people of war with him, and all the mighty men of valor.  And the LORD said to Joshua, “Do not fear them, for I have delivered them into your hand; not a man of them shall stand before you.”  Joshua therefore came upon them suddenly, having marched all night from Gilgal.  So the LORD routed them before Israel, killed them with a great slaughter at Gibeon, chased them along the road that goes to Beth Horon, and struck them down as far as Azekah and Makkedah.  And it happened, as they fled before Israel and were on the descent of Beth Horon, that the LORD cast down large hailstones from heaven on them as far as Azekah, and they died. There were more who died from the hailstones than the children of Israel killed with the sword.  Then Joshua spoke to the LORD in the day when the LORD delivered up the Amorites before the children of Israel, and he said in the sight of Israel: “Sun, stand still over Gibeon; And Moon, in the Valley of Aijalon.”  So the sun stood still, And the moon stopped, Till the people had revenge Upon their enemies. Is this not written in the Book of Jasher? So the sun stood still in the midst of heaven, and did not hasten to go down for about a whole day.  And there has been no day like that, before it or after it, that the LORD heeded the voice of a man; for the LORD fought for Israel.  {NKJV, provided by Studylight.org – emphasis theirs}

Even though Joshua knew that Israel would win, that God had delivered their enemies into their hands, and that God was the one fighting the battle, it wasn’t enough.  He needed time to stand still.  So, he spoke it and it did; for a day, the sun did not go down and the moon did not come up, and the battle was won.

This is what I want – I want God to stop the sun from going down and the moon from come up so I can take revenge on my enemies.   I want God to go back to Sunday and stop the sun from going down and the moon from coming up so Mr. P doesn’t have to leave this world so soon – so I can talk to him again on Tuesday.  I want God to stop the sun from going down and the moon from coming up so my friends don’t have to suffer.

Not going to happen – He tells me this:

                [you, Lorna] Be Still and Know that I am God.

Ok God, I will be still and know – know that You are the One who is keeping me from falling.  Know that You are the One who is providing the peace and comfort for my hurting heart.  Know that You are the One who holds my friends in Your hands and is taking care of them.  Know that is it You who provides my life with Joy and Happiness.  Know that it is You who is fighting my battles (for I wrestle not against flesh but against principalities) so I need to put on Your armor {Ephesians 6:10-17}. 

Nevertheless, I know that I must stand still – not the sun and the moon.

So, this weekend as the time changes on my clock, and I gain that extra “hour,” may I spend that “time” being still with God instead of sleeping.  It is the only way I can continue to Follow 2 Serve Him.

And, God, the next time the sun and the moon stand still, may it be because Your Son, Jesus, is returning.

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Time – Please Stand Still

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Prayers come your way everyday for West Virginia. You already know that we were not promised a “rose garden, ‘” no we were promised that He would be with us all the way. Sounds like He is reminding you that He is with you, all the way. God Bless you, ee

    • E, It’s funny you mention “promised a ‘rose garden’.” That’s the title of a book I want to read. I guess now I really will have to read it. Thank you for your prayers – He is will me (and you). Love you – Lorna.

  2. Rena says:

    Lorna,
    I weeped with you while reading this post. My heart hurts with yours.

    This is such a powerful story. Oh that time would stand still!! Instead, I pray that we will learn to be still before Him. I pray your heart is at peace and rest in Him.

    Much love,
    Rena

  3. Dianne says:

    Lorna , you are loved and prayed for everyday. God is a loving God and only he knows the answers to why we sometimes feel like everything goes wrong. I know you are doing the right thing, by slowing down and listening to God. This was a story that really makes me think, I am so sorry for your loss, may God touch your hurting heart.
    Next week will be better! You are in my prayers, Love ya
    Dianne

  4. Pingback: Mustard Seeds | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

