Dancing with the Stars

One of my favorite live-reality TV shows is “Dancing with the Stars.”  I have watched it for about five seasons now and I can honestly say I do not watch it for the “Stars.”  {Though there have been some I have liked – especially this season.}  I watch it because I love the Dances.

This week’s show was not one of the better ones for me – a home viewer judge.  What I gave 9’s & 10’s to – the judges gave 7’s & 8’s.  I went to bed Tuesday night disappointed that my voting did not keep my favorite celebrity dancer on the show.

That disappointment reminded me of when I was in either the fourth or fifth grade and my dad told me I had a choice between two activities I could learn to do:  Dance or play guitar.  He told me to choose and he would pay for the lessons.  In my heart, I wanted to learn to Dance but I saw the Guitar in the closet and chose that instead {never did learn to play the guitar}.

When it was time to enter sixth grade and choose an elective I chose to go into the band {mom and dad had separated and with that I gave up on the Dancing lessons}.  I figured this was as close to Dancing as I could get {at least I could dance a little on the field and in the stands with the High School Band}.  But in my heart I still wanted to Dance {did manage to make it to the Homecoming Dance once}.

After graduation, my Dancing dreams were put on hold, again.  I married, had kids, divorced, and then met my current husband – who loves to Dance.  Finally, I would learn to Dance.  We took Jitterbug lessons and went Dancing after our wedding.  But life got busy and the Dancing was put – once again – on the back burner. 

Still, this is not the Dancing my heart is longing for.

I want to Dance like David did.  I want to Dance before the King.  I want to Dance with God and allow Him to take the lead.  But after last week, I never thought I would feel like dancing again.  I turned to His word for guidance – I found this:

I will extol You, O LORD, for You have lifted me up,
And have not let my foes rejoice over me.
O LORD my God, I cried out to You,
And You healed me.
O LORD, You brought my soul up from the grave;
You have kept me alive, that I should not go down to the pit.
Sing praise to the LORD, you saints of His,
And give thanks at the remembrance of His holy name.
For His anger is but for a moment,
His favor is for life;
Weeping may endure for a night,
But joy comes in the morning.
Now in my prosperity I said,
“I shall never be moved.”
LORD, by Your favor You have made my mountain stand strong;
You hid Your face, and I was troubled.
I cried out to You, O LORD;
And to the LORD I made supplication:
“What profit is there in my blood,
When I go down to the pit?
Will the dust praise You?
Will it declare Your truth?
Hear, O LORD, and have mercy on me;
LORD, be my helper!”
You have turned for me my mourning into dancing;
You have put off my sackcloth and clothed me with gladness,
To the end that my glory may sing praise to You and not be silent.
O LORD my God, I will give thanks to You forever.

Psalm 30 (NKJV – provided by Studylight.org, emphasis mine)

Through all my life’s struggles – He turns for me my mourning into Dancing.  It is He who is guiding me – it is He who takes the Lead – I Follow.  {A friend once told me that guidance is really God – U and I are Dancing together.}  He teaches me the routine, I practice (by daily reading His Word and listening to His voice), and then we perform – each time to a different piece of music (service).

This is the Dancing I want.

Lord, I thank you for turning for me my mourning into Dancing.  You are the One who takes the Lead and I Follow.  You are the One who clothes me in beautiful garments and has beautiful music for us to Dance to.   You are the trainer and judge all in one.  And, when I’ve learned the routine here on earth – it is You that I will have my first dance with in Heaven. 

But, until that day, I will Dance again with my husband.

Dancing with the Star, Lorna

PS – check out my friend Emily’s blog post about Dancing.

 

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Follow, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dancing with the Stars

  1. Dianne says:

    I liked Emily’s blog, In my mind can see all of us dancing with God. Glad that you are able to look to the future. Just keep writing such wonder messages each week. I am sure when you dance with your husband, you look like you belong on “Dancing with the Stars”. You are a Winner!
    Love ya

  2. Pingback: a call to die – day 11: bought and paid for | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

