give Thanks

One of my favorite memories is of the times I spent with my grandparents, both as a child and as an adult, at Thanksgiving.  At my grandparents’ house, there would be turkey and cornbread dressing, rice and gravy, cornbread, green beans, desserts (plenty of desserts), and anything else that family members would bring.  And, it was always a house full of family; this was the time of the year that I was able to see several of my aunts, uncles, and cousins who I hadn’t seen since the last Thanksgiving.

As a child, I can remember playing in the yard with my cousins, climbing whatever tree we could find.  I would take a walk in the woods or swing on what seemed like a mile long tree swing.  Then as a teenager I’m sure I tried to be part of the “Adult” conversation (honestly, I don’t remember much from my teenager Thanksgiving years).

However, as an adult, Thanksgiving took on a new meaning.  For me it was learning about my mom’s childhood and the crazy stuff that my aunts and uncles did.  It was the same story about the time the yard was flooded and the house was full (but the bathroom wasn’t working).  It was bringing my first son to his great-grandparents’ house where he ate “turkey and sweet potatoes” from a jar.  It was sharing the laughter and tears with my family {while papaw watched the game}. 

Then in September 1997,  my grandfather died.  That Thanksgiving was probably one of the hardest Thanksgivings I’ve ever had.  I was pregnant with my second child and my heart was broken that he would never get to know the man he is so much like {I’ve often joked that we could not handle ‘two’ of them on the earth at the same time}.

Then several years later, my grandmother died.  I was much older when she passed away but the heartache is not any less.  Mamaw loved Thanksgiving {especially the cooking part}.  What I believe she loved most about it is the time she spent with her children and grandchildren {wish I had paid more attention to the way she cooked her cornbread dressing though}.

Next Thursday is Thanksgiving and I wish at times that I was a child again travelling to visit my grandparents, but I can’t.  What I can do is give Thanks for the times that I was able to spend with them. 

Photo by James.Isenhart (picasweb)

You see – they taught me so much about what it means to Follow 2 Serve.  My grandfather was a World War 2 veteran and a farmer.  My grandmother was the mother of 13 children and service to her was taking care of her kids (and the neighborhood kids when they learned that her biscuits were ready).

Therefore, this year (and every year) as I eat Turkey and Dressing – I can give Thanks.

As I gather around the table with my family – I can give Thanks.

And in the words of Psalm 107:1 – I can give Thanks to the Lord, for He is good!  For His mercy endures forever!

Happy Thanksgiving!

May the Lord bless you and yours and I give Thanks for you – my family and friends.

Lorna

PS – There will not be a posting next week – Enjoy the time with your family and friends.

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Follow, Serve, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to give Thanks

  1. Melissa says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to You!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Good Thanksgiving memories Lorna, and hope for many more to come.

  3. Dianne says:

    Thanks Lorna,
    Your story touched my heart, keep those memories forever, and may you make many good memories for your children. May God continue to Bless, you and your family.
    HAPPY THANKSGIVING
    Love ya,
    Dianne

Leave a Reply

