Feed Me

Note from Lorna:

During the month of December, I am going to be posting on Wednesdays and possibly more than once a week.  The reason – birthdays. 

The first one is December 10 – it’s my youngest son’s {Caleb} 13th Birthday and since he thinks that he is already an adult, I get the privilege of telling him that he’s only a teenager.  (Sorry son.) 

Other important birthdays this month are related to people I love:  my sister (Dec. 29th); two of my uncles (I have 10), two of my cousins (too many to count  and one just happens to have one today);  my mother-in-law {she passed away several years ago but we still think of her},  several friends, and of course – mine.

However, the most important one is December 25th – the day we celebrate the Birth of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.   

If you have a birthday this month, let me know – I’d love to tell you Happy Birthday!

Now for today’s posting.

Feed Me

The Friday before Thanksgiving, I took a field trip to the local corn maze with Caleb and one-half of the 7th grade students, their teachers, and parents from his school (the other half went to the zoo).  I was not looking forward to being outside with a bunch of pre-teen/teenagers and walking through a corn maze.  However, the Lord had other plans for me that day. 

The day started out cold and we had to sit through a lesson about agriculture {with singing chickens}.  Then the Farmer took us to feed the animals:  Sheep, donkeys, chickens, a calf, a horse, and goats.  After feeding the animals, off to the pig races we went {who would have thought that little piglets running around a racetrack could make a bunch of 7th graders laugh}.  As we walked around the fields, I was steadily taking pictures (and posting cryptic words as my Facebook status).

When the pig races were over, it was time to walk through the corn maze {which I am happy to say that Caleb, his friend, and I got through without a map or by asking for directions}.  We ate lunch and had the rest of the day to play, ride the rides {no I did not ride any rides}, or shoot the water bottles/corn ears out of a cannon.  I’d have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed myself but won’t go back until I have grandkids (which I’m hoping is not for a very long time).

Later that night {after explaining to my Facebook friends about my cryptic crazy status updates}, I emailed my friend pictures of the sheep I took while at the corn maze (she’s working on an idea involving sheep/lambs that tell a Biblical Story – Love it!).  When I sent her this picture (below) I told her that it reminded me of what Jesus does when we worship Him.  I didn’t hit me about what I wrote until later. 

As I continued to think about what my words and this picture meant, Feed My sheep kept popping into my head.  My original thought was that when I worship Jesus with my hands, He gets food from them.  This is one possible answer but what I believe now is that when we worship Jesus by taking care of other people we are doing what He told Peter to do (after his restoration) and that is the Food that Jesus eats.

John 21:15-17 tells about the restoration of Peter; in these three verses, Jesus asks Peter three separate times if he loves Him.  Peter, each time, says yes.  The responses from Jesus:  Feed My lambs, Tend My sheep, and Feed My sheep.  How simple can it be?  Worship Jesus by Feeding and Tending His sheep {the people we know and the strangers we meet on the street).

One of my heart’s desires is to help others.  My husband often complains because if I see someone who has been in an accident and needs help, I’m out of the car before he has a chance to put it in park.  {Tend My sheep.}  But, what about feeding them?  What about the people who hungry – not just physically, but spiritually?

During this Advent season, as we wait to celebrate the Birth of Christ, there are ways to Feed Him (and after Christmas too).

  • One can volunteer at a local homeless shelter or soup kitchen.
  • Give to the Salvation Army or other local charitable organization (be sure to check them out first).
  • Support one’s local toy and food drives.
  • Visit a nursing home.
  • Attend church – find someone you don’t know and sit with them or bring a friend to church.

These are just a few things that one can do to Feed and Tend His Sheep.  Pray about what He would have you do (then do it).  If you like, post a comment (you don’t have to leave your last name) and tell others about your experience – I can guarantee that it will be the best thing in the world. 

Lorna

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Feed Me

  1. Dianne says:

    The children at Luke were passing out cards and each one had a different message, mine had “Feed Someone Today”. I put it in my Bible, yet it was calling out to me. I finally got it out of the Bible and prayed for wisdom. Well my answer was to pray for someone who was sick, needed help, and make someone smile each day. I am the one who got feed. God is Great!

    Happy Birthday, Lorna

    • Yes God is Great . . . and I’m glad that He Feed You. It’s amazing how God works in our lives – especially when we’re willing to listen. If you’re looking for someone to pray for . . . pray for Gabe. He’s the son of my friends, Jeff and Jennie, and is fighting his second round of cancer. My friend Mary and I are asking everyone we know to consider praying and/or fasting for Gabe until he comes home from St. Jude, HEALED. If this is something that God is asking you to do, email prayer.fast.for.gabe@gmail.com, visit http://prayerfastforgabe.blogspot.com or click the picture on the right side of this site.

      Follow 2 Serve

      Love, Lorna

      https://follow2serve.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: Mustard Seeds | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

