Mustard Seeds

When I wrote last week’s post, Feed Me, I had no idea of the impact it would have on my life.  After I posted it, I thought to myself that I really should have named it ‘Feed Him’ (but didn’t change it), because that is what the post was about – Feeding Christ.  However, ‘Feed ME’ is what happened.

For those of you who know me (really know me that is), you know that the last few Christmas seasons have not been very kind to me – emotionally.  It seemed that at this time of the year, I would turn into a depressed, angry, and sad person.  I was a Grinch when it came to Christmas.    

But this year is different.  I don’t know exactly when things started to change but if I had to guess, I would say it was after my friend, Mr. P’s, death.  For a few weeks in October and November, things were tough but thanks to a friend, my life began to turn around (again) and I was back in church, feeling different.  This year it feels like Christmas.

I don’t know if it’s the Christmas season itself that is making me feel this way but I’ve been feeling like this for a couple of weeks now and I like it.  I like the fact that I want to go to church; I like the fact that I decorated the Christmas tree; I like the fact that I wanted to shop for presents – instead of just having to shop and put the tree up and go to church.

Yes, I’m feeling different this year.  Why?  Because I don’t feel as hungry anymore.

Why?  Because He has been Feeding ME.

He’s feeding me with the gift of His presence.  He’s feeding me with the gift of friends.  He’s feeding me with the gift of service. {It is the intention of this blog to invoke feelings of service by following Jesus – I never actually thought they would be my feelings.}  Then I posted ‘Feed Me’.

Then came the impact.  You see, last Thursday night my friend called me and told me about something she felt God was leading her to do.  We have a friend whose son, Gabe, has cancer and she wanted to start a fast and have people pray for him until he comes home healed.  (That’s the reason for the picture on the right side of this post that says – Praying & Fasting for Gabe).

However, I did not see this coming.  When she called me, she was just talking and asking what could be done allow people to sign up to fast and pray and before long I was on the computer setting up a new email address and blog for Gabe.  (Only God could orchstrate something like this.)  For me, the computer part was easy — it’s what came later that impacted my life. 

For starters, I had chosen one (Matthew 17:14-21) of two scripture passages as the basis for the fast based on our conversation, posted the verses and a brief note on the blog and thought nothing of the passage until Monday.  

Monday was the day I had signed up for the fast and so as I was reading this same passage of scripture this verse popped out at me.  “So Jesus said to them, ’Because of your unbelief; for assuredly, I say to you, if you have faith as a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible for you’” (NKJV).

I’ve always heard and read the parable about the mustard seed being the smallest seed of all yet grows into the greatest of trees (Matthew 13:31-32) and knew somewhat about mustard seed faith; however, I had never connected ‘faith as a mustard seed.’ 

It has taken me years to come to terms with what has happened in my life, but in one moment, I felt in the smallest of seeds, belief.  I know that Jesus forgives, that He heals, and that He binds up the brokenhearted and sets the captive free.  But, on Monday, a mustard seed obviously planted several weeks or years ago, was watered and feed and whatever unbelief I had about ‘my situation’ has disappeared and new life began. 

A new life, one that is being feed by God and will eventually grow into a tree planted by a river (Psalm 1:3).  I find myself, after Monday,  praying more, and slowing down – mentally.  I’ve been able to do some of my hobbies (for fun) this year and look forward to being a part of the Christmas activities that will embrace my family in the next few weeks.

Although I can’t imagine what Gabe is going through right now, I know that God has a plan for his life and will use him in a mighty way, just like He uses Mustard Seeds.  I know that [the cancer] can go out by Praying and Fasting (Matthew 17:21).  I know that at times my friend may feel like she has no faith but remember ‘faith as a mustard seed’ grows. 

I also know that this Christmas, my heart is changing.  Not because I created a blog for a friend who needs prayer.  Not because my friend, Mr. P, died.  Not because I had a friend talk me back to reality (and who will also keep me accountable).

It’s changing because of Jesus.  Jesus, who went from a cradle to a cross to a crown (this past Sunday’s sermon), is my Food.  He is Gabe’s Food.  And He can be your Food too. 

It’s because of Jesus, that I can say that it is Christmas.  It’s because of Jesus that I can say to the cancer that is trying to destroy Gabe’s life – MOVE!, you’re not welcome here. 

Therefore, while we’re fasting from food (at least most of us are) and praying, may Gabe be feed with the Love of Jesus.  May Gabe know that his life has impacted my life and may Gabe receive healing along with peace and comfort as well. 

It is also my prayer this Christmas that we realize it was a seed that grew the wood cradle {at least I think it was wood} that held our Savior at birth and the wood He worked with as a carpenter; a seed that grew the Cross He died on; and a seed that grew the tree (Revelation 22:2) we will see when we see Jesus wearing His crown.

Love, Lorna (ps, I love mustard)

(visit http://prayerfastforgabe.blogspot.com for more information on Praying & Fasting for Gabe)

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mustard Seeds

  1. Rena says:

    YES, YES, YES!!

    Lorna, this a shouting post! 😉 I’ve been thinking about how He is the Bread of Life and we who know Him and have Him, the Bread of Life, ought to be feeding others the Bread of Life! What an amazing post!

    Praising Him!!!!!!
    Rena
    P.S. I love mustard, too! 😉

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Well said Lorna, this is a great devotional on faith. I love mustard too!

  3. Rebecca Lawrence says:

    This was great Lorna….I like mustard also….but I love to feed on His presence more.

  4. Mary Ballard says:

    I love mustard too!!!

    Fasting for Gabe has put things into perspective for me as well. I knew when God gave me the idea for the website that it would require you to pull it off. God has a way of working things out. Now you’re busy keeping up with emails that remind you about life and how precious it is, at a time when you’re normally centered in on what is missing in life. My favorite part is where you wanting to put up the tree and do things with your family, and mine!

Leave a Reply

