Snowmen

Snowmen . . . I looked around my house the other day and realized that I have somehow managed to collect mostly snowmen as my Christmas decorations. 

I have them on my:   mantle, shelves, coffee cups, wrapping paper, gift bags, kitchen towels, tablecloth, decorations, candle holders, and tin cans.   And of course my Christmas tree.  They’re everywhere.  I don’t know how or when I have collected so many snowmen. 

Then there’s the snowmen movies:  Frosty the Snowman, Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer, Jack Frost, and Christmas with the Kranks.  Yesterday,  I renewed my driver’s license – in my snowman shirt – and I have a snowman hat and socks.  I guess I’ll have to admit it . . . I love snowmen.

Having so many snowmen around my house, got me wondering, What it would it be like to be a snowman?

First off, it would have to be COLD (though in the desert they have tumbleweed snowmen). 

Secondly, there has to be SNOW.  I love snow.  Caleb (the newly crowned teenager) loves snow.  In fact, it snowed two weeks after he was born.  Both he and I want to move to the mountains so we can have snow in the winter (although it has snowed where I live before).

Then someone would have to “build” the snowman.  One could build one by piling heaps of snow together or one could take the time to roll up different size balls of snow, placing one on top of each other.  Either way, the snowman would need eyes, a nose, a mouth {Have you ever noticed that most snowmen are smiling?}, arms, and a scarf.  (There are even instructions on how to build a snowman on the internet.) 

After the snowman is built, then what?  Snowmen just sit there.

Later the thought occurs to me that I am a snowman.

Isaiah 1:18 says, “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; (NKJV).

Jeremiah 18:6b says, “Look, as the clay [snow] is in the potter’s [builder’s] hand, so are you in My hand” along with Isaiah 64:8 says, “You are our Father; We are the clay [snow], and You our potter [builder]; and all we are the work of Your hand” (both NKJV, additions mine).

My eyes, nose, arms, and scarf is the Armor of God (Ephesians 6:10-17).  However, the most important part (according to Frosty) of being a snowman is coming alive except my “magic hat” is not a hat at all.  It’s Jesus Christ who lives in me – His Spirit that breathes life into me.  (Ephesians 2:1-10 and Genesis 2:7).  And the smile, it comes from knowing God loves me!

And I don’t just “sit there” – I’m called to serve the other snowmen.  To love the other snowmen. To pray for the other snowmen.  To encourage the other snowmen.  To be with the other snowmen.  

Snowmen . . . People . . . there’s an entire family of us (not just in my living room).

I would take pictures and show you all my snowmen but my favorite decoration says it all.

Because without Him – I would not be a Snowman.

Hoping it snows (soon) while Following 2 Serve and I’m praying He comes back even sooner (I don’t want to melt).  Love, Lorna

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Christmas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Snowmen

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I only have snowmen around my house too, but unlike you…I have plenty of snow! Should I send some? Love you, ee

  2. Wanda says:

    What a great analogy. You’ve given me a fresh perspective on snowmen 😉

  3. Dianne says:

    I can remember making snowmen, we rolled the snow so big, the men had to put the middle and head on for us. Thanks for reminding me of my childhood.

  4. Pingback: Snow | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

