I Am New

As the calendar year ends, I find myself creating my list of “New Year Resolutions” – things I want to do next year (the big one being clean out the house).  Last year I vowed to “keep the speed limit” which I broke the first time in the car, but this year I seem to be focused on what I want to do to become who I want to be. 

Things like:

  • instead of spending time on Facebook – spend more time with my face in His Book
  • Re-read my namesake – Lorna Doone
  • Read all the books I’ve purchased before purchasing new ones
  • Re-read the ones that I need to learn more from – allow those underlines to soak in
  • Start a “formal” prayer list
  • Not only read Common Prayer: A Liturgy for Ordinary Radicals but participate in it.
  • Exercise my mind (school), body (actually exercise and eat healthy), soul (attend & participate in church more), and my spirit (being with others and making new friends).

It’s always my resolution to become.  Become who God wants me to be.  {But why can’t I just accept who I am already?}

While searching for something to go along with this post this morning I came across this video by Jason Gray titled . . . I Am New

I’m not sure if there are words to explain how I feel after watching that video.  Amazing comes to mind – just to know that I Am New.  I am a new creation in Christ.  I don’t need the New Year to become, to change, to transform;  it’s not me doing it anyway – just be.  

So, after watching the video, my New Year’s Resolutions now include – Be: 

  • be Forgiven
  • be Beloved
  • be Righteous
  • be Holy
  • be Reborn
  • be Remade
  • be Accepted
  • be Worthy

Therefore, as I continue to learn what it means to Follow 2 Serve, as the new year approaches and the old one goes out, may I realize that I Am New and allow Him to create in me His list of New Year’s Resolutions.

Blessings to you this New Year,

Love Lorna

 

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Follow, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Am New

  1. “allow Him to create in me His list of New Year’s Resolutions.”

    yes, this is what my heart desires, too. thank you!

  2. Oh, I really like the list of “BEs”….so important and the very focus of what we all need. Thank you!

  3. Dianne says:

    Computer has been down, I know God will see you through all your goals, but remember He made each and everyone of us, just as He wanted, but yet keeps molding us. God is great and will always lead us.

    Love ya

  4. Pingback: a call to die – day 11: bought and paid for | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

