Following the Star

Today is January 6, 2011. I know – what an epiphany. Nevertheless, today really is January 6, 2011 – Epiphany.

Epiphany, celebrated by many religions as the day ending Christmas, is the day we honor and remember the wise men (magi) who brought gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh to the Christ Child. {I have often wondered what Jesus did with those gifts – knowing Him – He probably gave them away.}

Here is account of the wise men’s visit as recorded in Matthew 2:1-12 (NKJV).

 Now after Jesus was born in Bethlehem of Judea in the days of Herod the king, behold, wise men from the East came to Jerusalem, saying, “Where is He who has been born King of the Jews? For we have seen His star in the East and have come to worship Him.”

When Herod the king heard this, he was troubled, and all Jerusalem with him. And when he had gathered all the chief priests and scribes of the people together, he inquired of them where the Christ was to be born.

So they said to him, “In Bethlehem of Judea, for thus it is written by the prophet:

“But you, Bethlehem, in the land of Judah,
Are not the least among the rulers of Judah;
For out of you shall come a Ruler
Who will shepherd My people Israel.”‘

Then Herod, when he had secretly called the wise men, determined from them what time the star appeared. And he sent them to Bethlehem and said, “Go and search carefully for the young Child, and when you have found Him, bring back word to me, that I may come and worship Him also.”

When they heard the king, they departed; and behold, the star which they had seen in the East went before them, till it came and stood over where the young Child was. When they saw the star, they rejoiced with exceedingly great joy. And when they had come into the house, they saw the young Child with Mary His mother, and fell down and worshiped Him. And when they had opened their treasures, they presented gifts to Him: gold, frankincense, and myrrh.

Then, being divinely warned in a dream that they should not return to Herod, they departed for their own country another way.

As I ponder what the wise men’s visit to Jesus looks like to me today, I can’t help but wonder why they went to Jerusalem instead of Bethlehem to start with – weren’t they Following the Star?

The more I thought about them going to Jerusalem, the thought occurs to me that they went to where they knew the ‘head honchos’ were – Herod the king and the priests to seek out their advice as to where find the Christ Child. Yes, they were directed in the right direction – but Herod also sought out the Christ Child (only to kill Him). This reminds me of what people do in the world today – myself included.  Often I’ve sought out the world’s advice while trying to find Jesus – only to realize that the world seeks to kill Him – when the real answer is in Following the Star (Revelation 22:16).

During the Christmas holiday, I was listening to one of my Christmas cds by Celtic Thunder.  On it was this song – When You Wish Upon a Star.  I found it strange that it would be on a Christmas cd, but now as I think about Epiphany, it makes sense.

When you wish upon a star
Makes no difference who you are
Anything your heart desires
Will come to you

If your heart is in your dream
No request is too extreme
When you wish upon a star
As dreamers do

Wise men – they Followed the Star – they Followed their Hearts – made no difference to Christ who they were – makes no difference to Christ who we are – He loves us the same (and gives us the desires of our heart – Psalm 37:4).

So today, as I remember the wise men’s visit to the Christ Child, may I continue Following the Star and give Him my heart and my dreams.

‘Wise Men Still Seek Him’

Blessings to all – Love,

Lorna

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Follow and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Following the Star

  1. Nicole Green says:

    Lorna,
    That was awesome! Thanks so much for posting. When Christmas day is past I am so quick to be thinking about what’s next, getting my house clean, planning for spring, etc. Your post reminded me that I need to focus on the day I am in and be thankful for the lessons that are learned on that day.
    Nicole

    • You’re welcome Nicole. And I guess since Christmas is “officially” over – I should take down my Christmas tree and put up the decorations – but I’m enjoying them too much. Maybe tomorrow. (Lorna)

  2. Dianne says:

    Your message reminded me, do not search for an answer, take your request to God, and it will be answered. God will never lead you in the wrong direction. With the New Year, that is what I want to do, always follow God’s lead. I want to be kept on the right path. Just take each day as it comes.

    Know you had a Wonderful Christmas, and I know you will have a Blessed 2011

  3. Pingback: Chapter-a-Day Matthew 2 | Wayfarer

Leave a Reply

