Winter Hope

I tried writing something earlier this morning but my brain needed a nap (it could not think anymore).  Now I’m up and sitting at my keyboard, warm and cozy inside when it’s freezing outside, feeling the season of Winter and can’t wait for you to read what God showed me.  

Winter – it is the time of the year when trees are dormant and the bears are in hibernation.  

When I think of Winter – I think of Snow {seriously, how does the rest of the US get snow and I don’t}, ice skating {will never try this again – at least without some full body protection}, and barren, yet beautiful, landscapes.

However, on this Winter day {before my nap}, I was thinking about a statement I made yesterday – “I wish I could fix broken hearts.”  It seems that for the majority of the last few months, I have heard more ‘bad’ news than ‘good’ news.  Several of my friends have lost loved ones or have serious problems; a couple of my friends are in the hospital with serious illnesses {Praise the Lord – one is being released today}; and just being a part of a family, when one family member hurts, we all hurt.

Turning on the TV or reading the newspaper does not help – words of discouragement and chaos fill the headlines.  Between the tragedy in Arizona, major winter storms trapping people in their homes, and domestic violence locally, our world needs Winter to end.  This death, so to speak, that comes at least once a year – What good does it bring?

The White Witch in C. S. Lewis’ The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, made Narnia  “always winter but ever Christmas”, which some think suggests the absence of Hope.

Nevertheless, I am thankful for Winter – it does bring Hope.  Winter brought Christmas – Christmas brings Jesus – the Hope of Winter.    

Hope, according to Merriam-Webster’s dictionary, is “to desire with expectation of obtainment or to expect with confidence.”  Paul wrote in Romans 5:5, “Now hope does not disappoint because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us.”  Romans 15:12 states, “And again, Isaiah says: ‘There shall be a root of Jesse; And He who shall rise to reign over the Gentiles, In Him the Gentiles shall hope’.”

This is what I place my Winter Hope in – the fact that Jesus does not disappoint.  And, the knowledge that as I continue to Follow Him, the Holy Spirit living within me brings  comfort during times of pain and grief (and peace during times of chaos and worry).  It is this Winter Hope – Jesus – who brings healing, guidance, and new life.

So, as you look at this picture, may it be a reminder that as we wait out Winter that Hope will be rooted in our hearts and when the time is right – Spring will come.

Love, Lorna

PS:  My friends – God DOES Love You – and I’m praying for you!

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Winter Hope

  1. Rena says:

    I since that feeling of death all around in this winter season and I get this. I so get this. But for the life within those seemingly dead branches there would be no hope for them. And praise God that even in the darkest of hours, even in the dreariest of days, His life within us will one day soon burst through like the spring! Praying his peace covers all of those aching and hurting in this season and that hope is not deferred much longer!
    Love you, my friend!

  2. Mary Ballard says:

    I, too, understand. When Im at work and calls come in about desperation, people killing themselves and others it chills me to the bone to wonder what it feels like to be so desperate that you want to take another life and then ending it in your own. It is so hard to try to explain to a world about hope when they haven’t met the One that gives that hope. It’s hard to explain faith to a loved one that is suffering in pain if they can’t understand that He already bore their pain. This is season makes me thankful that I do have a church family and church friends that I can lean on in these times, and then be there for them to lean on when the walls come tumbling around them. How does the world survive without taht support system? I see it in my own siblings, watching them struggle day after day, wondering if they will ever understand that true peace comes from allowing God to carry you through the hard times. For every purpose there is a season…a time to dance, a time to cry, a time to mourn but I’m thankful that they all have a counterpart that brings the opposite when that season is over.

  3. amydeanne says:

    Amen! Thanks for the encouragement through this post! For someone who is buried in blizzards over here, that is particularly precious to me!

  4. Dianne says:

    Yes, winter does seem to bring death and sickness, but we must always remember God has a plan for each and everyone of us. A lot of people in my Church family are suffering right now, we lift them up to God, as only he knows the needs and desires of the hearts of those who call out to him. We must never forget the love of God, even during Winter, Spring, Summer or Fall, we are here on Earth, until God is ready for us to come home and we have finished our jobs here on Earth. Dear, God want miraculous, things you do all year long!
    Dianne

  5. what a good Word! i was feeling pretty winter-low, too, and my mom reminded me similarly of the bulbs in the ground. we don’t see them, but God is growing them and will bring out the flowers of spring–in the earth and our lives, too.

    i hope i don’t turn you off by quoting him, but jim wallis says that “hope is believing in spite of the evidence and watching the evidence change.” love that. God is always at work, and his Kingdom is advancing–even in this bleak mid-winter.

    grace and peace (and snow! you’re welcome to some of PA’s;)

    • As soon as I’m able, I’ll be planting some bulbs for some beautiful flowers this year (hopefully I’m not too late). I do have gladiolus that come up every year – It amazes me how they manage to survive.

      I don’t know who Jim Wallis is but I like that quote – never thought of Hope that way. Thanks for sharing. (And if snow could be mailed – I’d say I’d pay the postage :-})

      (Lorna)

  6. Young Wifey says:

    I do believe I too have been praying harder and more this winter, for almost everyone I know has been tested with hardships recently. In January I often think of the growing amount of light each day, it brings me hope. In February as my crocuses begin to shot their green up through the snow, it gives me joy. In March, despite the colder harsh winds and lingering winter, the birds return to inspire me. In April (or whenever Easter falls), everything around me seems to point to renewal.

  7. Pingback: Lent | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

