Driving

I’m no longer stopped at the Crossroads {thank you for praying for me}.  After deciding to take a right turn, I’ve been driving ever since.  However, along the way, I’ve taken a couple of more left and right turns and have stopped at three different houses.

The first stop brought me to a new house – one that I’ve been in only once before but spent plenty of time at the old one.  I was there to ‘Let Go and Let God’ work.  To consciously release the pain I’ve held onto for too long – allowing healing to take place.  

The second stop brought me to a book – Rooms by James L. Rubart.  {Yes, I do find it interesting that two of the books that I’ve read this past year which have influenced my life greatly are about Room(s).}

But first, a little insight.  A couple of months ago, I had a dream – a dream about a house.  In it, I was closing on this house and was panicking because I had missed my Statistics’ final exam causing me to fail my class {and yes, I am actually taking this class this semester}.  I told my friend about this dream and she said to consider the meaning of the word Statistics.  Statistics, for those wondering, is “the science of the collection, organization, and interpretation of data.” 

Ok, so this made no sense to me at all – until I come across RoomsRooms, as you might guess, is about Rooms in a House.  Rooms filled with different aspects of the life of a man named Micah.  Without giving away too much – parts of his life, thoughts, and feelings could be my life, thoughts, and feelings.  Our one thing in common is that we both have this V(v)oice (you’ll have to read the book to see what happens; to read Chapter One, click here). 

Combined with the meaning of Statistics, the dream makes perfect sense to me know.  For many years, I’ve collected, organized, and interpreted data – usually not according to the way God would have me interpret it.  I’ve put different areas of my life in different Rooms – keeping God out of them, forbidding Him to analyze the data {even though He already knew}. 

However, Jesus says, “Behold, I stand at the door and knock.  If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me” (Revelation 3:20).  As I look it up now – reading this in context with Revelation 3:15-20 – I have chills {or as I like to call them – Godbumps} because it confirms what went on at the next house I stopped at and the major decision from last week’s post.

Pastor had no clue Sunday morning what was happening in my life – and the decisions I needed to make.  I knew what he was going to preach about from Wednesday night’s service but somehow – the two (his sermon and Thursday’s post) did not connect.  The theme of the sermon was – “Who You Rollin’ With?”  Throughout the sermon,  he said “2011 is a binary year – are you On or Off?” “Hot or Cold?” (read again Revelation 3:15-21).  All I could do is sit there during altar call and give Him the Keys.

So, if you’re still reading, here are my decisions.

  • I’ve decided to – 100% – commit to Follow 2 Serve.
  • I’ve decided to – 100% – commit to quit listening to the voice.
  • I’ve decided to – 100% – finish the Bible Study:  Lies Women Believe and the Truth that Sets them Free by Nancy Leigh Demoss.
  • I’ve decided to – 100% – believe and live out what I’ve learned in the Bible Study.
  • I’ve decided to – 100% – dwell on the truth of Rooms and His Word allowing Him access to the Rooms in my heart.
  • I’ve decided to – 100% – allow God to rearrange and remodel the “Rooms” of my house – adding on or demolishing a room or two if needed.

It will be hard and at times I will try to quit or make mistakes.  Nevertheless,  I know that God loves ME! (and YOU!).  I also know that He’s placed people in my life that will tell me – Lorna – get back on the road or you need to give God that key {I give thanks to God for each one of you}.   

Thank you for being a part of my journey to Follow 2 Serve – I love you.

(Lorna)

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Books, Follow, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Driving

  1. Nancy says:

    LOVE YOU TOO!!!!!!!

  2. Becky says:

    Really proud of you Lorna

  3. Dianne says:

    God will lead you every step of the way, God is so good!
    Love Ya,

  4. Pingback: The Invisible Rope | Follow 2 Serve

  5. Pingback: a call to die – day 1: take up your cross | Follow 2 Serve

  6. Pingback: a call to die – day 8: lies, nothing but lies | Follow 2 Serve

  7. Pingback: An Emotional Post | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

