Groundhog Day

It’s February – the month we celebrate Love on Valentine’s Day.  Even if you don’t have a ‘loved’ one to celebrate with – take joy in this – JESUS Loves YOU!  – Celebrate with Him.

However, there is another Holiday in February that bears mentioning – February 2nd – Groundhog Day.

Groundhog Day is the day when Punxsutawney Phil tries to predict whether we will have six more weeks of winter or an early spring.  And, if you live in South Louisiana, there is Cajun Ground Hog Day with Pierre C. Shaddeaux (but I don’t think he can predict the weather either – he’s just running from the jambalaya pots).

I’ve never been one to rely on these predictions; however, this year, Groundhog Day has me thinking about caves.

Now you are probably asking – what does a cave and Groundhog Day have to do with each other?

Absolutely nothing!  Neither nutrias nor groundhogs live in caves.  Pierre C. Shaddeaux lives in a house and Punxsutawney Phil lives in a hole in the ground.  A cave, in the Bible, represents death, burial, and hiding and Groundhog Day deals with the weather.

Nothing except that I find it interesting that Groundhog Day is a day for second chances, sort of like a new beginning – like in the movie Groundhog Day.  A second chance to correct something that went wrong – a do over.  {There are a lot of things that I’d like to do over!} 

Nothing except that I’ve been given a new beginning.  Like Lazarus.

Lazarus, yes the guy who died and was buried in a cave until Jesus spoke – “Lazarus, come Forth!  Loose him, and let him go” (John 11:43, 44 NJKV)

I was like Lazarus, dead and buried in a cave of my own, but Jesus said – Lorna, come forth!  Come out of that cave you’re in, take the grave-clothes off, and Follow Me. 

So tomorrow, Groundhog Day, ask yourself, “What new beginning is Jesus giving me?”  Take the opportunity to make things right {forgiveness} and start new – not only with people, but also with Jesus.   

In addition, just as Phil and Shaddeaux do, don’t crawl back into your “cave” because you’ve seen the sun.  Stay out of the cave – because you’ve seen the Son!

Happy Groundhog’s Day or in my case, Happy Cajun Ground Hog’s Day!

{Love, Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Follow, Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Groundhog Day

  1. Deb H. says:

    What a great message!!! Thank you for stopping by Jeremiah 29:11 and joining my little Fantastic Friday party!!! I’m your newest follower!!! 🙂

  2. What a great post! I love this message and love your blog. Great job!
    God bless,
    Debbie

  3. Samantha says:

    Wonderful comparison!! Love the way you tied the two together and the truth you shared!

    One of the most impactful books I’ve read is The Lazarus Life, by Steve Smith. Highly recommend!

Leave a Reply

