There’s Only One Thing I Can Do

He lies on the couch calling . . . “Momma, I need you.” 

My baby is sick.

As a mother I don’t like it when either of my boys are ill – especially when I don’t know exactly what is wrong.  He might have the flu – I don’t know – it could just be a virus or just the everyday common cold.  Whatever it is, he needs his mom.  

And his mom needs him.

Along with the other people in his life who love him.  There’s his grandfather who risked catching what he has to go check him out of school.  There’s his brother {who pretends he doesn’t care} ask about him in a way that only a brother can. 

There’s his grandmother who calls after being at work as a nurse to check on her grandson and to offer her ‘grandmother/nurse’s’  advice.  There’s my husband who calls home to make sure that we have enough milk and medicine in the house. 

Along with the hope that we can get in to see the doctor today, there’s only one thing I can do.

Lord, heal my child.  He hurts; he aches and has the chills.  He needs You.

“Momma, help me” – he cries – “I hurt.”

There’s only one thing I can do.

Lord, take the pain away from my child.  He hurts; he aches and has the chills.  He needs You.”

He calls from the couch, “Momma, come here – I need you.”

There’s only one thing I can do.

Lord, I ask for healing for my child.  He’s Yours.  Take this illness away.”

He says, “Cast your cares upon Me, for I will take care of him.”

There’s only one thing I can do.

Lord, He’s yours.”

Join me today in continuing to not only pray for my child who is headed to the doctor, but for those children and families who deal with an illness daily. 

{Lorna}

[Update:  Caleb does not have the flu – we don’t know what he has.  So today, we will rest and pray for continued healing and health – Not only for my son but for those who are also ill today.  

PS – I have SNOW {flurries – just a few but enough to say it is ‘Snowing’}

Lord, In the Name of Jesus, I ask for complete healing – not only for Caleb but for Allyson’s child and Nicole’s child as well.  Also, heal those I am unaware of that need healing but who You know.  I pray especially for my friend Gabe and his family – bring healing, peace, wisdom, and guidance.  Also for those families who are in need of Your Healing Hands in their lives – make know Your mighty works.  And, Thank You for the Snow Flurries.  Amen.] 

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to There’s Only One Thing I Can Do

  1. Nicole Green says:

    Mine is sick too. I’ll be praying for both of our boys.

  2. Allyson Decker says:

    Another sick kid here too. Praying for us all to be done with this sickness and able to rejoice once again at our good health.

  3. Dianne says:

    Will put your whole family on my Prayer List, special prayer for you and your son. Pray that God will wrap his arms around your whole family and remove this sickness from your son.

    Love ya,
    Dianne

Leave a Reply

