Valentine’s Day Supper

Yesterday, my husband wanted to take me ‘out to eat’ for supper for Valentine’s Day but  we went to lunch and spent the day together shopping at Sam’s and Wal-Mart.  Not very romantic is it? 

But to me it is – usually I have to shop alone making the decisions about what to buy and then hauling the items to the car and then into the house.  It is an exhausting process but one that must be done at least once a week (especially with teenagers).  This time – my husband is helping me {that is the romantic part in case you did not notice}.

However, that does not diminish the fact that my husband wants to take me to a restaurant and have a nice meal. 

Instead, I will cook a special supper tonight {roast beef, potatoes, green beans, and garlic bread} and spend time at the table with my family – with those I love.

However, that does not change my husband’s idea of wanting to take me to supper.

I am fine with not going ‘out to eat’ and he’s okay with it.  Tomorrow, Valentine’s Day, is a day of school for me and the boys and a day of work for my husband, making it a long day around my house.  So, I will again cook supper {baked chicken, herbed rice, and peas} for those I love.

Still, my husband wants to take me to supper {just because he loves me}.

And I want to go.

I want to go to supper with my Husband.

I have no idea what I will wear or what time it will be.  I do know that it will be the best meal ever. 

And, you are invited. 

Then a voice came from the throne, saying, “Praise our God, all you His servants and those who fear Him, both small and great!”  And I heard, as it were, the voice of a great multitude, as the sound of many waters and as the sound of mighty thunderings, saying, “Alleluia! For the Lord God Omnipotent reigns! Let us be glad and rejoice and give Him glory, for the marriage of the Lamb has come, and His wife has made herself ready.” And to her it was granted to be arrayed in fine linen, clean and bright, for the fine linen is the righteous acts of the saints.  Then he said to me, “Write: “Blessed are those who are called to the marriage supper of the Lamb!”‘ (Revelation 19:5-9, NKJV, provided by Studylight.org, emphasis mine)

Preparing for Supper by Following 2 Serve – Love, {Lorna}

Note:  the above picture is an adaptation of The Invitation by Danny Hahlbohm.  To view more of his art, click here.
About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Valentine’s Day Supper

  1. Elizabeth says:

    It will be the most satisfying meal ever! I can’t wait!

  2. Rena says:

    This was so awesome!!! Totally unexpected and exciting!! Got me looking back up at the clouds, Lorna!!!

  3. amydeanne says:

    sweet post!
    btw, wal-mart is the usual date location for hubby and me too lOL

Leave a Reply

