The Invisible Rope

This past Friday, I shared a video similar to the one below with my Facebook family and friends.  It was funny at the time but the more I thought about it I realized there was a message within it.

Watch {and you need a few seconds to see the gist of it – but feel free to watch the entire two minutes and 2 seconds of it} and then continue reading.

Did you see it?

The Invisible Rope?  Did you see it?

I didn’t either – but most people who were walking did (or so they thought). 

I have found that in my journey of Following 2 Serve the Invisible Rope shows up quite often.  It makes its appearance when I’m not paying attention to what is going on around me.  It shows up when I’m following the crowd – doing what they’re doing – knowing in my mind – that there’s no rope there. 

Oh but there is.  Remember my decision about 100% committing to finishing the Bible Study – Lies Women Believe and the Truth that Sets them Free?  Well, I’m on Chapter 5 and I have found my Invisible Rope and it has a name – it’s satan and his lies.

satan – the author of lies.  he’s the one who stretches that Invisible Rope out in front of me – wanting me to trip and fall.  he’s the one who tells me that I can’t do this because I’ve done this and that.  he tries to make me believe that I’m not forgiven – that I’m not good enough to do what I’ve been called to do.  It’s satan that uses things to distract me from reading my Bible and Studying God’s word.  It’s satan – the Invisible Rope – that tries to capture me and bind me up.  {However, it’s my choice whether I step over the Invisible Rope or allow it to trip me.}

Thankfully, Jesus has provided me with not only the Holy Spirit but the Truth of His Word to combat the lies of satan.  It’s because of Jesus I can choose to step over the Invisible Rope (like those in the video) and keep walking.  Better yet, because of Jesus, I can cut the Invisible Rope in half and keep walking.   {Of course, I can’t do this alone – I need the Holy Spirit because apart from Him I can do nothing.}

So, the next time you feel tripped up – ask yourself – where’s the Invisible Rope?  And, when you find it, cut it in two and keep Following 2 Serve.

Jesus, my Lord and Savior, I thank You for the Holy Spirit and I ask now in Your Name, that you give not only me, but my friends Spiritual Vision to see the Invisible Rope.  Provide us with the strength needed to squeeze the scissors to cut the Rope.  

 “For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. Therefore [may we] take up the whole armor of God, that [we] may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.  Stand therefore, having girded [our] waist with truth, having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and having shod [our] feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace; above all, taking the shield of faith with which [we] will be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked one.  And [let us] take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God; praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, being watchful to this end with all perseverance and supplication for all the saints” (adapted from Ephesians 6:12 – 18, NKJV)

Watching out for the Invisible Rope while Following 2 Serve, Love {Lorna}

PS – And sometimes we need to jump over the rope and run!

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Follow and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Invisible Rope

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Good analogy…have you ever read Watchman Nee Lorna? He explained John 15 in this way, everything we do apart from the Holy Spirit is nothing. This was good to wake up to this Sunday morning, Blessed be the Name of the Lord!

  2. Samantha says:

    Wonderful visual and perspective! Fear has been my “rope” lately. I anticipate it and am fearful of being afraid. I’ll remember these truths next time the “rope” appears. Thanks!!

  3. Dianne says:

    I had to think about this one. My eyes have been opened by “The Invisible Rope”. That Rope tries to pull me away from my Bible reading and “Celebration of Discipline”. With all that is going on in the world we all have to be aware of the “Rope”, it will never leave us alone. We must never let our guard down. God loves all of us, he will never leave us. Praise be to God!

  4. Wanda says:

    Great illustration of how we can get go along with something other than the truth.

  5. tcsoko says:

    It just shows how powerful our minds and imaginations our – sometimes our invisible ropes are self made – it is amazing how our own fears and insecurities can trip us up again. It is like the story of the donkey who is tethered for years to the same pole and con only move a few metres each way – when he is released he continues to live in the space as he is used to his limitations – his mind doesn’t know he is free.

    • That is SO true . . . great reminder that our minds do/can become the invisible rope. However, it is in Christ that we have our Freedom – May the chains of those who are bound be cut free. Thanks for sharing. {Lorna}

  6. Grace says:

    Very good video and truth. Also if we believe in the powers of the Lord then that belief is visible to others. Those that do not have that in their life may be influenced by our walk or rope and begin to see it for themselves.

  7. Deb H. says:

    WOW!!! Satan uses that invisible rope on me, too!!! What a thought provoking post….thank you!!! And, thank you for stopping by and commenting at Jeremiah 29:11 and joining my little linky party!!! HOPE your weekend is full of blessings!

    • Thanks Deb . . . I keep thinking about how I was told once that members of the military would spray the silly string that’s in a can so they could see the trip wires (don’t know how true that is but it makes a great illustration). Well our “silly string” is the Holy Spirit and He will expose the Invisible Ropes so we can cut ties with them. Thanks for sharing. {Lorna}

  8. Becky Jane says:

    I agree with Grace, if others see us not being tripped up with Satan’s invisible string they might be encouraged to walk ahead with more faith!

Leave a Reply

