Lent

My morning did not start out as I had planned. I intended to get up early to read my Bible and spend time with my Lord and Savior. Nevertheless, it did not happen like that this morning.

Last night I couldn’t sleep so I got up and went to the living room, and sat on the couch so I wouldn’t disturb my husband who was snoring sound asleep.  I had no intentions of sleeping on the couch – just needed some quiet time – but instead I fell asleep there because this morning my husband woke me up at 5:00 saying my alarm was going off. Not a good thing.

The next thing I hear is the sound of a major thunderstorm (we were under a tornado watch also).

My mind jumps into gear, waking the two teenagers up early so they can get dressed for school before the power goes off {which it never does}, all the while praying that the storm stops before the youngest has to go to the bus stop.

Chaos erupts. Not from the storm, but from my youngest dragging his feet trying to get dressed for school. It’s five minutes before he must leave the house and he can’t find his school shirt (they wear uniforms to school).

Ten minutes before this it had stopped storming. Not even a drop of rain. {More evidence that prayer does work.} Both boys are on their way to school before it starts to rain again (thankfully not a thunderstorm).

A chaotic morning.  It’s not the way I planned to start Lent.

Lent. According to Churchyear.net, “Lent is the period of fasting leading up to the feast of Easter, recalling Jesus’ 40-day fast in the wilderness.” It begins today, March 9, and ends on Saturday, April 23 (Sundays are not counted as part of the 40 days).

“The purpose of Lent is to be a season of fasting, self-denial, Christian growth, penitence, conversion, and simplicity. Lent, which comes from the Teutonic (Germanic) word for springtime, can be viewed as a spiritual spring cleaning: a time for taking spiritual inventory and then cleaning out those things which hinder our corporate and personal relationships with Jesus Christ and our service to him” (Lent).

I like the thought of it being a time of Spring Cleaning. It’s a time to rid myself of the chaos in my life, to rid myself of those things that keep me from Following 2 Serve. A time to take the focus off myself and realize that even during those times of chaos (like this morning), I can’t do it without Him.  It’s a time to realize that it’s not all about me.

Jesus said, “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow Me” (Matthew 16:24).

This is why I’ve decided to take the Call to Die. Beginning today, I am committing to complete the book, a call to die, by David Nasser. My commitment includes spending one hour a day – praying, reading the text, memorizing Scripture, and committing to a fast. For the next 40 days, I will be posting brief excerpts and/or review of the text, a question, and a Scripture to memorize.  Look for the first post tonight.

Will you join me? I’d love to have you journey with me.  Leave a comment and let me know so I can be praying for you.

May you be blessed by Him.

Following 2 Serve through a Call to Die,

Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Lent

  1. Rena says:

    I’ll follow with you, Lorna. I don’t know what this will look like. I’m still not certain just exactly what the parameters of my fasting will be but I WILL be part of Lent this year. I’ll embrace this time of denial, of seeking, of cutting away for more of Him. To truly grasp all that Resurrection brings.

    • Thanks for joining me Rena. And it’s ok if you don’t know what it will look like – neither do I. However, I can guarantee – it won’t be bad – might be hard though, but all worth it. {Lorna}

  2. Mary Ballard says:

    Im with you too, Lorna

  3. Deb H. says:

    What a precious post. I read another story about Lent this week that touched my heart, too. Thanks for sharing and for visiting me at Jeremiah 29:11!

  4. Dianne says:

    I would love to follow you on your journey.

  5. Samantha says:

    Love this! Recently I committed to “guarding my heart and mind in Christ Jesus.” Which includes fasting from fear and doubt, and memorizing scripture to put in those thought’s places. I’d love to combine my journey with yours for Lent!

    Thanks for leading Lorna!

  6. Samantha says:

    Love this! Recently I committed to “guarding my heart and mind in Christ Jesus.” Which includes fasting from fear and doubt, and memorizing scripture to put in those thought’s places. I’d love to combine my journey with yours for Lent!

    Thanks for leading us Lorna!

    • Thanks Samantha – Love that you’re following along with us. It’s been great so far (and I’m loving your series also – Jumping off the “Negative” Thought Train ). May you be blessed by Him. {Lorna}

  7. Pingback: a call to die – day 14: too full to eat? | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

