a call to die – day 2: hard words

“On hearing it, many of His disciples said, ‘This is a hard teaching.  Who can accept it?’ from this time many of His disciples turned back and no longer followed Him.” – John 6:60, 66

Jesus –  during His three years of earthly, public ministry – was a popular man.  In today’s society, people might consider Him a mega-church’s pastor.  The crowds couldn’t get enough of Him.

Of course, also in today’s society, He might even have a Twitter account – @Jesus – possibly, probably, even surpassing Charlie Sheen’s over 2 Million followers.

But would He?

“Popularity never was Jesus’ goal.  He wanted to make disciples, not points.”

So, what does He do – He says some Hard Words.

If He had a Twitter account, I wonder if His tweets would look like this? 

  • I AM the #BreadofLife
  • I AM that I AM.
  • I Tell u the truth, unless u eat the flesh of the Son of Man & drink His blood, u have no life n u. (John 6:53 – tweet version)

Hard Words – especially that last {tweet}.

Those were the words He spoke as He is being rejected by His Own.  Soon after He speaks those words, the crowd quits following Him, leaving His Twitter account with only 12 followers.

I can imagine the thoughts of the disciples.  Whoa . . . this guy was at the top of His game and then He starts saying all this crazy stuff about eating flesh and drinking blood.

Hard words.

His next tweet might have been –

            u do not want 2 leave 2, do u?

Peter tells Jesus, “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life” (John 6:68).

Hard Words.

Throughout day two, Nasser asks, “what are the hard words He speaks to us?”  Nasser then clarifies stating, “These words usually identify something we value and that we insist on putting at the center of our lives where only Christ should be.”  He also states that “God’s Spirit will shine His light on your particular idol when it’s time.”

I’ve thought a lot about what the idols are in my life today {Twitter is not one of them}.  According to Nasser, they can be a secret sin or one that is out in the open – usually something that involves my “greatest strengths or prized possession.” Anything that I place above or in place of God is an idol and God will expose it – most of the time using Hard Words. 

If you are on the path of Following 2 Serve, listen for those Hard Words.  Those are the words of cleansing and healing.

In this fast-paced Twitter society, we have come to expect things at the “push of a button or click of a mouse.”  Taker Nasser’s advice when he says, “Repenting of spiritual idolatry is hard, brutal work, and this culture has not prepared us for it.”

Remember the Hard Words of Jesus are not meant to condemn but to convict so that we may turn our hearts and lives over to Him.

So as Nasser says,

“Don’t be shocked when the Holy Spirit taps you on the shoulder, points to something in your life, and says, “My friend, you love this more than you love Me. I will help you tear it from your heart and put Me there.”

Until tomorrow,

Follow 2 Serve – Love, {Lorna}

NOTE:  David Nasser does not use Twitter in explaining Jesus’ Hard Words in his book, a call to die.  All other quotes and thoughts (though paraphrased), other than my own, are his found in his book, a call to die.

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a call to die – day 2: hard words

  1. Deb H. says:

    Looking forward to tomorrow!!! I’ve been a Christian for many years….but He’s still working on me!!!

  2. Pingback: a call to die – day 4: rewards | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

