a call to die – day 3: ruined

“’Woe to me!’  I cried, ‘I am ruined!  For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the Lord Almighty.’”  – Isaiah 6:5

Isaiah took the words right out of my mouth.  I am Ruined.  I am a woman of unclean lips.

Who wants to admit that they are unclean – but we must.  We are sinners.  And God is Holy.  Once we come to that realization – that we don’t measure up – it is then we understand we fall short of the glory of God (Romans 3:23).  Extremely Short.

Nasser explains that Isaiah understood this about himself.  He didn’t necessarily speak unclean things (cursing, etc.).  It was that he knew that within his heart, he was unclean – “out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.”  Isaiah realized he was unholy encountering a Holy God.  Read what Nasser says about this encounter.

“As he [Isaiah] got a glimpse of a holy, holy, holy God, [he] Isaiah got a glimpse of his own depravity (unholy, unholy, unholy).”

It was then he [Isaiah] said he was ruined – as should we.

So, what did God do?

            HE TOUCHED HIM!

What happens when something you have is ruined?  Normally, we would throw the thing away – right?  But not God.  When we’re broken and ruined, He touches us – heals us.  He forgives us.  He makes us whole again.  If we let Him – if we Surrender to Him.

It was only after Isaiah said that he was a man of unclean lips (ruined) {acknowledged he was a sinner} could God touch him.

“See, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away and your sin atoned for.” Isaiah 6:6-7

Isaiah had been forgiven.  And, after that, he was ready, willing, and able to serve.  To go where God would send him.  To do what God told him to do.

This should be the response from all who have been forgiven.  When the Lord says, “Whom shall I send?”  Our [my] response should be . . . “Here am I, send me!”

Nasser acknowledges this sentiment when he writes,

“When our sins are exposed in the light of God’s presence, we feel ruined; but when we experience forgiveness in the depths of our souls, we become fresh, clean, and new.  We are eager to please God in any way we can.  When He calls, we hear and go.”

Therefore, my questions for you today are –

            Are you ruined?  If so, will you allow God to touch you?  Will you allow God to use you?  Will you say Here Am I, Send Me!

Also, continue memorizing John 3:16.

In addition, please be praying for the people of Japan, those on the islands of the Pacific Ocean, and those on the West Coast of the United States of America. 

Until tomorrow,

Follow 2 Serve – Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to a call to die – day 3: ruined

  1. Jackie Paulson 1966 says:

    The hardest part of life is staying in Peace daily. Putting on the Armour of God and defending the light of Christ, yet glorifying him to non believers. Family and friends are the hardest part of witnessing. I wish it was not so. “for god so loved the world, that he gave his ONLY son.” It’s memorized. AMEN, amen. I pray for Japan and all of the victims. “not one, is considered righteous, no not one.” I strive for His glorification daily. Amen. Great blog!

    • AMEN! Very true – we tend to think that when we fail our witness is over but it doesn’t have to be that way. It’s the way we handle ourselves when we do fail – when we are ruined – that sometimes speakers louder than the actual failure. Great job on your Scripture! Prayers continue to be with Japan and her people. {Lorna}

  2. Pingback: a call to die – day 4: rewards | Follow 2 Serve

  3. Dianne says:

    Yes, I too feel ruined , but no matter how bad I have been, if I am truly sorry and ask God for forgiveness, He is always there to see me through. I am not only praying for Japan, but the entire World and the Leaders, that God will open their eyes and give them wisdom.

  4. Samantha says:

    Beautiful scriptures and thoughts. I pray I open my whole heart and eyes to areas that need to be ruined for the sake of the glory of the Lord.

    Loving this series!

Leave a Reply

