a call to die – day 4: rewards

“Those who honor Me, I will honor.” – I Samuel 2:30

Before the Lenten season in my home state (Louisiana), there is Mardi Gras {not just the Tuesday before Ash Wednesday either}.  On most weekends during this time, the streets of our communities (especially New Orleans) are filled with parade goers, all of whom call out to the people on the floats . . . Throw me something mister.

What they want is their reward for standing on the side of the street . . . waiting.

However, this is not the rewards Nasser speaks of during today’s lesson.  Today we touch on another type of reward system – the “law of the harvest.”

It’s a simple law – one that requires a choice, one where you actually have to do something to get something.  It’s called – You Reap what You Sow.   

In today’s lesson, Nasser tells the story of a farmer who sows wheat seed.  He reminds us that the farmer doesn’t expect to see corn growing the next day but at harvest time he expects there to be more wheat than the seeds he planted.   

It works this way with us as well – we sow something good, we expect something good in return, right?

However, the ultimate reward we are expecting is eternal life . . . for our Lord and Savior to say – “Well done, [insert your name here].  Enter into the joy of your Master!”

One day we will have to face the “Judgment Seat of Christ” and account for everything we have done – both positive and negative.

So today, I want to encourage you to sow things that will reap the eternal reward.  “A kind word . . . a helping hand . . . a note of encouragement . . . a cup of water.”

Nasser reminds us “Sometimes we enjoy the harvest of rewards for walking with God soon after we sow good attitudes and actions.  In other cases, the reward will come in the next life.  But we can be sure of this, God notices, and He doesn’t forget.”

Your questions for today:  What are you sowing?  Is it positive or negative?

Continue to memorize John 3:16.

Until Monday,

Follow 2 Serve – Love, {Lorna}

If you missed any of the previous posts in the series, they are listed below.

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a call to die – day 4: rewards

  1. Dianne says:

    I am seeing the world with open eyes, I any trying to be positive in every thought I have and every action I take. It is hard for me to stop and ask God, what I should to, I may not like his answer but I know it is right. God will never let you down.

Leave a Reply

