a call to die – day 5: excuses, excuses

“When Jesus saw the crowd around him, he gave orders to cross to the other side of the lake.  Then a teacher of the law came to him and said, ‘Teacher, I will follow you wherever you go.’  Jesus replied, ‘Foxes have holes and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head.’  Another disciple said to him, ‘Lord, first let me go and bury my father.’  But Jesus told him, ‘Follow me, and let the dead bury their own dead.’”  – Matthew 8:19-22

Excuses . . . I’m guilty of using them.

They don’t get me out of trouble and sometimes even get me into more trouble.  They’re ugly little sentences that we use to justify our decision not to obey.

Notice I said . . . decision not to obey.

Excuses.

Nasser believes that “many of us hide behind the excuses of convenience and confusion.  We don’t do what God wants because it requires a little more effort and courage . . . than drifting along like we usually do.”  And I agree.

It’s easier to say . . . I’m with her to keep her safe (when we walk into some place where we know we are not supposed to be).

It’s easier to say . . . It’s just a movie or television show – fiction – it won’t harm me.

It’s easier to say . . . I’m not serving because I can’t because of this (my past, I don’t know how, I’m not sure if that’s what God wants me to do).

But is it really easier?

I often struggle with that last statement – the one about serving – because I believed that God couldn’t use me because of my past.  WRONG – It was/is just an excuse! 

Think about this:  What if Jesus would have used excuses during His time on this earth?  I’m afraid I can’t go there – Thankfully He didn’t.

Excuses.  They get us nowhere. 

So, your question for today is – What Excuses are you using?

Until tomorrow,

Start memorizing Isaiah 26:8 and Follow 2 Serve – Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a call to die – day 5: excuses, excuses

  1. Dianne says:

    This hit home. My excuse was I cannot cook well enough. We had several people at our Church that were ill and needed food. I looked at the list and it hit me, that could be me, but for the Grace of God. I put my name down. They were in an accident 10 years ago, and still have not recovered and the wife now has cancer. When my turn came to cook, I called and asked what she felt like eating, chicken and dumplings. I felt so blessed to be able to bring a smile to a family.

    It felt so Blessed to do for others, never let me forget God, we are only here for a short while and we are here to serve.

    • I’d call that “Paying it Forward.” I remember our dear sweet friend, E, taking very good care of you when you needed. She was a blessing and now you’re a blessing – glad you’re able to do for others. (PS – Love Chicken and Dumplings {but you don’t have to fix me any}) — {Lorna}

  2. Pingback: a call to die – day 10: rubbish . . . what does that mean? | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

