a call to die – day 6: God’s work

“Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed – not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence – continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you to will and to act according to His good purpose.” – Philippians 2:12-13

Nasser starts today’s lesson stating he “values zeal for God.”  I believe him.  The words he has put to paper – one can definitely tell they come from his heart with passion.

I can remember being like that – it was when I first got saved.  I’ve often thought – what happened?  God didn’t leave me – it was all me.  I let the world come into my life.  I was doing what I wanted to do – not allowing God to work through me.

Nasser reminds us that as believers, there are guidelines we must follow if we want others to see God’s work in us.  He quotes Galatians 7:19-23 as what not to-do and what to-do.

“The acts of the sinful nature are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like.  I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.  But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.  Against such things there is no law.”

One may think these are a set of rules . . . and they are . . . just like those in Exodus – you know, the movie on TV every Easter – the one called The Ten Commandments.  But these guidelines is how God works in our lives.  He shows us what to-do and what not-to-do by these.  His Holy Spirit opens our eyes to the don’ts so He can replace them with the dos – those characteristics that show others Jesus.

However, it is His work to do – we/I can do nothing without Him.  It is by the Holy Spirit that I change – that I can get rid of the junk.  It is by the Holy Spirit that God works through me – changing me into the person He wants me to be – who then will do His work through me. 

Continue to memorize Isaiah 26:8 and think about  – What guidelines are you living by?

Until tomorrow,

Follow 2 Serve – Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to a call to die – day 6: God’s work

  1. jstair says:

    I know what it’s like to be on fire for God, and I know what it’s like to grow cold. God didn’t give us the rules b/c he wants to be a dictator, but b/c he wants what is best for us. It’s like sports. Without boundaries and rules it would be chaos…even dangerous. Thanks for your post!

  2. Jackie Paulson 1966 says:

    I just agree with “jstair” that that really sums up how I feel.

  3. Dianne says:

    I am trying to live by God’s rules, they are the “WORD”, we follow them or he will not even know us when we die!

  4. Pingback: a call to die – day 10: rubbish . . . what does that mean? | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

