a call to die – day 7: know the Word

“For the word of God is living and active.  Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.  Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight.  Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account.” – Hebrews 4:12-13

Today’s lesson is a biggie for me – and one I often fail at.

It’s about Knowing the Word.

I’m talking about the Words of God – the Bible.  {You know, the Basic Instructions Before Leaving Earth book.}  The words that give instruction, guidance, and knowledge to all people.  The words that Jesus learned, studied, and spoke during His time on the earth.  The words that Jesus used to heal people with, rebuke satan with, and train His disciples with.  The Words of God Himself.  Active, Living, and True.

We must Know the Word.

Nasser, who once taught for the Billy Graham Evangelistic Association, lists some ways that we can “absorb God’s Truth.” 

  • Hear the Word – “Faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word of Christ” (Romans 10:17).
  • Read the Word – “He is to read [the scriptures] all the days of his life so that he may learn to revere the Lord his God and follow carefully all the words of this law and these decrees” (Deuteronomy 17:19).
  • Study the Word – “You, through Your commandments, make me wiser than my enemies; for they are ever with me” (Psalm 119:98).
  • Memorize the Word – “Your word I have hidden in my heart, that I might not sin against You” (Psalm 119:11).
  • Meditate on the Word – “I will meditate on Your precepts, and contemplate Your ways” (Psalm 119:15).

But I’d like to add one thing – Analyze the Word.  By that, I mean to ask the Holy Spirit to show you what it is that He wants you to learn when you hear, read, and study God’s words.  Analyze what they mean to your life – what you can learn from them.  Analyze them as to how to put them into practice into your life. 

As I said earlier – I often fail at this part of my Walk with God.  I know it’s important to learn God’s word and hide it in my heart so during Lent, as we go through this series, I’m concentrating on doing exactly what Nasser taught – Hearing (by going to church), Reading (a morning quiet time), Studying (digging into my lessons), Memorizing (working on Isaiah 26:8) and Meditating (spending time letting what I’ve heard and read roll over and over in my mind and heart).  I want to know His Word.

Therefore, my question for you tonight is – Why do you think it’s important to “hide God’s Word in your heart.”

Until tomorrow – Continue to Hear, Read, Study, Memorize, and Meditate on Isaiah 26:8.

And Follow 2 Serve – we can only do so by Knowing the Word.

Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to a call to die – day 7: know the Word

  1. Mary Ballard says:

    I believe that we have to hide God’s word in our heart so when circumstances arise that are beyond our control we can pull from the Word that is in our archives, which as you say, is the hard part. I find it much easier to pull from my archives and help someone else when they are in need than to actually listen to God’s leading for myself during hard times. It’s like we know the Word but it’s not the first thing we think of. With me, faith is always present when hard times hit and its the first thing that rises in me, but the Word is what I should be going straight to.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    This is a great mediation today Lorna…St. Benedict put in his rule, always we begin again. So each time we fail, we begin again, Isn’t God good?

  3. Dianne says:

    So we can always have it close to us, and remember the “WORD” whenever we are faced with a decision. Plus we can be able to give a message from the “WORD” when someone comes to us for help. Take time every day to be with the “WORD”.

  4. Pingback: a call to die – day 10: rubbish . . . what does that mean? | Follow 2 Serve

  5. Pingback: a call to die – day 12: death . . . and your good clothes | Follow 2 Serve

  6. Pingback: a call to die – day 20: grow up | Follow 2 Serve

  7. Pingback: Day 9 « Eduardoelf

Leave a Reply

