a call to die – day 8: lies, nothing but lies

“The one who received the seed that fell among the thorns is the man who hears the word, but the worries of this life and the deceitfulness of wealth choke it, making it unfruitful.  But the one who received the seed that fell on good soil is the man who hears the word and understands it.  He produces a crop, yielding a hundred, sixty or thirty times what was sown.”  – Matthew 13:22-23

Nasser and I have something in common . . . and I pray you do too.

We both acknowledge that satan is a liar – and the father of lies.  He’s proven it over and over – he lies.  satan lies.  And, he tries very hard to get us to believe his lies.

Why?  According to Nasser, “if he [satan] can get us to believe the lie, he [can] destroy us.  He uses lies of every stripe to get us to doubt God’s intentions and character.”

Nasser is also quick to say, “We are at war.”

However, this war is an unseen war – one that is fought in the spiritual realm but with physical components.

A couple of weeks ago, I made the decision that I was going to finish the Bible Study, Lies Women Believe and the Truth that Sets Them Free with the Ladies group at church on Wednesday nights.  So far, I’ve read every chapter and have only missed one class (although I haven’t been able to complete most of the workbook pages – I will eventually get to them) and by doing so I can honestly say that satan’s been caught.  I’ve caught him lying to me.  {Plus, there have been so many lies I’ve believe in the past – it’s no wonder I was in bondage for so long.}

In addition, by reading today’s lesson [in a call to die], I’ve also learned a few of satan’s tricks he uses to get us to believe the lies.  Nasser tells us that satan uses four things to get us to believe his lies. 

Temptation ~ Accusation ~ Confusion ~ Obstacles

However, if we learn to recognize these tactics and along with prayer and abiding by the truth of God’s word, satan then no longer has a hold of us.  Our chains are loosed and we are free.  Christ has already won the battle.

Remember, satan is a liar and a thief.  And, as Nasser says, “We are at War!!”

So put on your fighting gear (the armor of God) and defend your mind, heart, and soul against satan’s lies.    

While you have the gear on, think about this – What lie(s) have I recently believed and what does the truth of God’s word say about it?  Then counter the lie with the truth and it’s satan – be gone!   

Until Tomorrow, continue to memorize Isaiah 26:8 and review John 3:16.

Follow 2 Serve – Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to a call to die – day 8: lies, nothing but lies

  1. Elizabeth says:

    In the movie the Usual Suspects the line occurs that say the best lie satan ever told was to convince people he doesn’t exist. Keep up the good work of telling the truth Lorna.

  2. Samantha says:

    Way to go on reading your study!! Cheering you on Lorna! You share such powerful truths… thank you!

  3. Becky Jane says:

    The Father of all lies…I guess what is most difficult to watch is our loved ones believing in those lies and allowing themselves to be deceived…
    Thanks for your post…Becky Jane

  4. Dianne says:

    I had to dismiss one of my friends last week, she tried to make me do something that was wrong, Satan and she were pulling me away from doing what was correct. All I can do now is pray for her and the person that actually lied to me and tell Satan to get out of my life.

  5. Pingback: a call to die – day 10: rubbish . . . what does that mean? | Follow 2 Serve

  6. Mary Ballard says:

    glad Im not the only one running behind on the wb pages, but Im caught up on the reading

Leave a Reply

