a call to die – day 9: where’s your treasure?

“The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field.  When a man found it, he hid it again, and then in his joy went and sold all he had and bought that field.  Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant looking for fine pearls.  When he found one of great value, he went away and sold everything he had and bought it.”  – Matthew 13:44-46

Treasure Hunters.  You know – those people who get up early on a Saturday morning, grab a cup of coffee, maybe a donut or two, and head out the door.  Then they get in their cars (often in groups) and drive until they see the first sign – the one that says:  Yard Sale Here {please wait until daybreak before shopping}.

There’s nothing wrong with being a Treasure Hunter.  I love Treasure Hunters (and Hunting).  I’ve been one (and I know people who will be up early tomorrow morning doing just this thing).  It’s amazing the things you find (and don’t forget – the person you are buying that treasure from just might need the money – which means you’re being a blessing to them.)  I’ve always heard people say – someone else’s trash is another person’s treasure.

Nevertheless, how will you find the Treasure if you don’t go looking for it?  Nasser tells the story of Mel Fisher and his quest to find the lost treasure of the Nuestra Senora de Atocha.  Along the way, he has disappointments, losses, and some minor finds – but he doesn’t give up and eventually he finds what he’s looking for – the treasure.

We all are on this same journey – the one where we’re trying to find our Treasure.  Some of us have found it – others, like Mel Fisher, have had some disappointments and losses along the way, but they too didn’t give up and they found it.  For those who haven’t found it, there’s something inside us that tells us to keep looking.

And we do – we keep looking until we find the Treasure.

Sure, at times we think we’ve found it.  We have a nice car, a nice home, and nice clothes.  We have friends and a social network.  We own stock in the market and we’ve been promoted for the third time since we’ve been at this job.  However, these things never satisfy us so we keep looking for the Treasure.

By now, I hope you realize that the Treasure is Jesus Christ.  He is The Treasure.

Nasser writes, “When we find [Him], He is so wonderful that our instantaneous response is to gladly forsake anything and everything to become intimate with Him.”

But don’t forget about the pirate who will try to steal your treasure {the joy, excitement, blessings, etc.} – “the thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy (John 10:10a).  But Nasser has great news,  “If Christ is our Treasure, no one [including the pirate] can steal Him, no one can damage Him, no one can take our satisfaction away.”

Who, what or where is your Treasure?

Until tomorrow,

Start Memorizing Galatians 2:20.

Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to a call to die – day 9: where’s your treasure?

  1. Dianne says:

    God is my treasure, I keep his “WORD” in my heart, I know I have found the one treasure that will never let me down, will always be by my side. I, thank, “HIM” everyday for loving me. This is one treasure that will lead me to ever lasting life.

  2. Deb H. says:

    Thank you for joining my little linky @ Jeremiah 29:11. I’m a little behind in your study, but do plan on going back and reading each day!! Thanks for letting me join in!

  3. Pingback: a call to die – day 10: rubbish . . . what does that mean? | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

