a call to die – day 10: rubbish . . . what does that mean?

“But whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ.  What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things.  I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ” – Philippians 3:7-8

Rubbish.

It’s all rubbish.  Trash.  Garbage.  Waste.   

Whatever you want to call it – it’s not worth having.  What is worth having is Christ.

Nasser begins today’s lesson with Paul, the man who God used to write most of the New Testament.  He was a prosecutor of the Church.  Even though he was raised in a Jewish household, he was one of the most zealous people at that time – but for the wrong reasons.  Until he met Christ.

For most of us, if we look hard enough, we can see bits and pieces of ourselves with Paul’s dramatic meeting of Jesus.  However, it’s not the conversion experience that matters – some people will never have an experience like Paul’s – mine wasn’t.  What does matter is the life we live after we meet Christ.

The Paul before his conversion was a powerful man; he had prestige, possessions, and power – and he enjoyed it – but he found that after his conversion, they were actually hindrances to him (Nasser, day 10). 

Rubbish.

“What we think are treasures is ‘rubbish’.  They are, indeed, waste, when we compare them to the ‘surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord.’”

As we continue on this Lenten journey, I pray that God is working within you (as He is me) to remove the “Rubbish” that has accumulated over the years.  Let us be like Paul, who said, “Who Cares” to the things of this earth; who said, “So What” to the all the fame and fortune.  Those things didn’t matter – as long as he had Christ.  Paul, Nasser writes, “found a way to be content – not in outward things but in Christ alone – and Christ never changes.”

So, What is your “rubbish?”

Until Monday, continue memorizing Galatians 2:20.

Love, {Lorna}

If you’ve missed any of this week’s posts – they are linked below:

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a call to die – day 10: rubbish . . . what does that mean?

  1. Dianne says:

    Rubbish consumed my life before I fell in love with “The Lord”. Sure I went to Church, but I really did not have a relationship with “God”. The Pastor of my Church, gave me study lessons, and that was the start of my journey with “God”. Now I have cleaned out the rubbish and made time to develope my relationship with “God”. I still have so much to learn, I pray that I can contine to do without the rubbish and focus on the “Lord”, I want to be with Him always.

  2. Pingback: a call to die – day 11: bought and paid for | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

