a call to die – day 11: bought and paid for

“Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God?  You are not your own; you were bought at a price.  Therefore honor God with your body.” I Corinthians 6:19-20

I’m a slave.

Not in the sense that someone owns me – but in the sense that I, as part of this world, have allowed things to take over my life – causing me to be a slave to them. 

My master could be something that I’ve bought and paid for.  For example, I love to read.  As part of my New Year’s Resolutions, I said that I wasn’t going to buy any more books until I read the ones I already owned.  I didn’t quite make it past January before I bought a book on my to-read list.  Enslaved to reading or enslaved to buying books – doesn’t matter – buying and reading books enslaves me.  It seems like that at times, it owns me. 

Or, for another example, TV.  I’ve tried all afternoon to write this blog post.  I managed to get most of it done before a certain TV show came on the air {OK, so I’m a big fan of Dancing with the Stars}.  But what I was enslaved to was putting the TV show before finishing this post – when this series is all about giving stuff up and cleaning out the rubbish in order to Follow 2 Serve; a call to die – to the worldly things in my life. 

Or one could be enslaved to a job, a career, school, a thought, money, one’s marriage, the kids, friends, food {and just as this thought enters my mind, I drop the can of cashews I was nibbling on as I type this}, sex, addictions, movies, gossip – I could go on but I think you get the picture.  If I place any of these things before and above God, they are a sin.

Nasser writes that we could also be a slave to these sins as well – “lust, greed, envy, and jealously.”  These are the things that “cut off the life-giving flow of the Spirit in our minds, and we fail to exercise our muscles so they wither.”  Nasser makes a dramatic statement when he says, “Having sin as your master leads to death.”  And it’s true.  Sin = death.

That’s a heavy price to be to pay for being a slave to sin – creating a debt I cannot pay.  However, that price has already been paid. 

Our debt has been Bought and Paid for.

By Jesus.

No, He didn’t pay off our mortgages, credit card balances, or car notes.  (Nevertheless, He could provide the means to do so with.) Nor did He turn off my TV (but He could).

What He did do was give His life.  He gave His life for mine – He paid my debt of sin so I could live.  “For God so Loved the World, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believes in Him shall not perish but have everlasting life” {John 3:16}.

So now, instead of my life being a slave to sin, I owe my life to Christ.  Nasser puts it this way:  “When Jesus is our master, our minds are absorbed with pleasing Him and advancing His kingdom.”  This doesn’t mean that I won’t mess up and sin.   I will.  Probably many, many times.  But my main goal is to Follow Jesus 2 Serve Jesus.   {And trust me, He’s not this hard taskmaster but a Gentle Shepherd who guides us along the way – sometimes asking us to do hard things.}

Nasser poses this thought, “The question each for me each day should not be, ‘What do I want to do today?’  It is ‘Jesus, I’m yours.  What do you want to do with me today?’” 

Why?  Because I have been bought with a price allowing me to release my grip on sin because all I have is a gift from God.  (Paraphrased, Nasser, day 11).

“One of the greatest – and rarest – perceptions for a follower of Jesus Christ is to be gripped with the truth that we are not our own any longer.  We’ve been bought with a very high price.  We belong to one who loves us and is as near to us as our breath.  That makes all the difference.”

So, in a sense, Someone does own me and I’m allowing Him to take over my life.

Until tomorrow,

Continue memorizing Galatians 2:20 and Follow 2 Serve.

Love, {Lorna}

PS – Don’t get discouraged if you’re having trouble memorizing the Scriptures . . . I’m still working on Isaiah 26:8 – so let’s keep going.

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

