a call to die – day 12: death . . . and your good clothes

“Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature . . . do not lie to each other, since you have taken off your old self with its practices and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its creator.” – Colossians 3:5, 9-10

Nasser introduces day 12 with these statements:

“When we become Christians, many wonderful things happen to us.  We are forgiven, we have eternal life, we become God’s children, and the Holy Spirit guides us.  But we are human.”

Human.

I am human.  You are human.  We are humans.

But, so is Jesus – with one huge exception.

He is sin free.  I am not.

I sin.  I make mistakes.  I try, but it’s just not possible to live a perfect sin-free life.

However, there is something I can do.  I can minimize the amount of sin that I allow in my life.

Notice I said – that I allow in my life.

There are times when I sin by choice.  When I choose to do something that I know is wrong.  Things like the bad attitudes I display or the unkind words that come out of my mouth.  Then there’s  the “active sin of trying to take revenge on someone who has hurt [me] and the passive sin of failing to help someone in need” (Nasser, day 12).

But what should I do to keep them (the sins) out of my life? 

I must kill them.  Nasser says, “Be ruthless and brutal.”  But how?

With a sword of course.

Yes, the sword of the Spirit (the Word of God) will kill them dead.  Knowing the Word and using It will bring you a new set of clothes (because the old ones are going to get messed up, destroyed.)

I love the way The Message translates Paul’s letter to the Colossians about putting off the old nature and putting on the new man:

Your old life is dead. Your new life, which is your real life–even though invisible to spectators–is with Christ in God. He is your life. When Christ (your real life, remember) shows up again on this earth, you’ll show up, too–the real you, the glorious you. Meanwhile, be content with obscurity, like Christ.

And that means killing off everything connected with that way of death: sexual promiscuity, impurity, lust, doing whatever you feel like whenever you feel like it, and grabbing whatever attracts your fancy. That’s a life shaped by things and feelings instead of by God. It’s because of this kind of thing that God is about to explode in anger. It wasn’t long ago that you were doing all that stuff and not knowing any better.  But you know better now, so make sure it’s all gone for good: bad temper, irritability, meanness, profanity, dirty talk. (Colossians 3:3-8; The Message, provided by Studylight.org)

By applying the Scriptures into our lives, we change our attitudes and the words that come out of our mouths.  It’s sort of like losing weight.  When we eat better (healthier) and exercise more (or start exercising), we lose the pounds that were added by overeating and being non-active thereby allowing us to take off the old clothes that don’t fit anymore and replacing them with new, good ones, that do fit.

So, chosen by God for this new life of love, dress in the wardrobe God picked out for you: compassion, kindness, humility, quiet strength, discipline. Be even-tempered, content with second place, quick to forgive an offense. Forgive as quickly and completely as the Master forgave you. And regardless of what else you put on, wear love. It’s your basic, all-purpose garment. Never be without it.  (Colossians 3:12-14; The Message, provided by Studylight.org)

So, are you ready for a new set of clothes?  I am.

Until tomorrow,

Review John 3:16, Isaiah 26:8, and Galatians 2:20.

Follow 2 Serve – Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

