a call to die – day 14: too full to eat?

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.”  — Matthew 5:6

Since beginning this Lenten series on fasting from the world (which is harder than I thought it would be) and feasting on the Lord, today’s lesson has affected my heart in way I can’t describe.

(David) Nasser makes a powerful impact with just two statements of the first paragraph on day 14.  He writes,

“You and I are at the banquet table of God’s presence and truth, but too often we are so full of junk that we’re not hungry.  In actuality, spiritually, we are starving to death.”

WOW and OUCH!

My heart sank and filled with tears as I read today’s lesson.  I’m still trying to absorb the images placed in my mind by the details of Chris’s work.  They are images of poverty, hunger, disease, and death.

Nasser tells the story of Chris, who is the head of Word Made Flesh Ministry, and his work with Mother Teresa at the House of the Dying in Calcutta.  It is one that I cannot repeat here for it breaks my heart just to think about it.  I do want you though to look at the following pictures {really look at them} and then continue reading.

Those pictures come as close to the reality of what today’s lesson is about that I could find.

We are starving but what we’re eating on is the garbage of the world.  So when we do come into the presence of the Lord (whether it be at church or in our own prayer time), we are often “too full of junk” to eat from what He has to offer us.  We go to church for an hour a week, listen to the preacher, and then we leave, only to come back a week later.  At home we might say a quick prayer, read a short devotional, and then move on with our daily chores {sad to say I’ve been guilty of both}. 

Nasser puts it this way (after telling about children who scrambled after garbage because it was all they could find to eat): 

“Many of us are like those kids scrambling for garbage.  We elbow each other at the mall, at the theatre, in the back seat, at home, at work, on the net, and at school in our hunger for food, but the food we lunge and fight for is rotten and diseased – and we eat it.”

Jesus said, “I am the bread of life. He who comes to Me shall never hunger, and he who believes in Me shall never thirst (John 6:35, NKJV).

I don’t know about you but I’m hungry.  And I don’t want to eat “junk food.” 

Therefore, my question for you today is – what “junk” have you been filling up on?

Until tomorrow, start memorizing Psalm 56:3-4 by writing it 3-4 times.

Follow 2 Serve –Love, {Lorna}

For more information on the Word Made Flesh Ministry, click here.

For more information on helping the hungry, I’ve listed below a few well-known organizations for you to visit.

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to a call to die – day 14: too full to eat?

  1. Samantha says:

    Just today I read Psalm 23 several times over and paused at “he prepares a table before me.” I want to feast on what is offered at His table! Thanks for this super reminder of setting our hearts on things above.

    • You’re welcome . . . kinda goes along with the “comfort food” vs. “loneliness” article. Of course, I also saw today an article that says most “Religious” people are obese by middle-age. I’m not buying into all that – the only food that I want to keep eating is the Words of Christ and that which He has “Prepared before me.” {Lorna}

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Lorna, my niece, Becky, is a teacher. She told me once she had to keep bread and peanut butter in her desk because you cannot teach a hungry child anything, they cannot hear beyond the hunger in their bellies. She teaches here in America where no one should be hungry for either kind of food. Good lesson today, thanks.

    • So true, She’s a blessing for doing that (keeping food and for being a teacher). It’s sad that in America we have hungry children – shouldn’t be this way. Thankful that most Churches have a food bank. {Lorna}

  3. Deb H. says:

    I felt the Lord lead me away from Facebook….because it had become “junk” to me and almost an addiction. I felt such a peace when I deactivated my account, knowing that I was no longer serving man (myself) and Jesus!!! Thanks for such a wonderful study!

    • Deb . . . I think that’s one of the reason’s why I don’t have a Twitter account. Not that it’s bad . . . but I don’t feel like at this time I ‘really’ need one. “Junk” comes in all forms but Jesus is the Only ONE! Have a wonderful weekend. {Lorna}

      • Deb . . . so I got a Twitter Account for Follow 2 Serve. However, I’m looking at it from a ministry standpoint. Like I’ve said, Twitter is not bad, it’s how you use it and how you allow or don’t allow it to consume one’s life. I’m going to give it a shot. {Lorna}

  4. Dianne says:

    I have so much (junk) in my life that keeps me away from “God” I don’t know where to start. I am getting rid of it, so I can focus on God, and have more time to read his WORD! It breaks my heart to see starving children and adults. God, has blessed each and everyone of us who have food and shelter, we should thank Him for blessing the United States.

  5. Pingback: Oh, How I Have Missed Thee… « ecohomeproject

Leave a Reply

