a call to die – day 15: the risk of grace

“And as for us, why do we endanger ourselves every hour?  I die every day – I mean that, brothers – just as surely as I glory over you in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  I Corinthians 15:30-31

Wednesday I posted quotes from a call to die on Grace.  Honestly, I didn’t give much thought to grace in my life before then.  I knew what it meant and that God’s Grace covered me.  It was like a given – since I’d been forgiven, I’d received grace.

That is until today.

A couple of summers ago, I attended a Renovaré Conference in San Antonio, TX.  While there, one of my friends that I had gone with had given us (there were a total of seven of us, including the one I’m talking about) each a word that the Lord had given her to give us.  My word – RISK.

I hadn’t thought much about that word until today.  I believe I now understand what it means, especially combined with Grace.

The Risk of Grace.

While, according to Nasser, “we usually think of grace as comforting and encouraging” . . . but for “those who drink deeply of the grace of God obey Him, and obeying a radical like Jesus Christ always involves risk.”

In explaining the Risk of Grace, Nasser reminds us of Moses.  Moses, born a Hebrew, raised a son of the Pharaoh, killed a man then runs to the desert where he finds a life of comfort.

Until, he meets God and his life is “turned upside down.”  During that encounter, and subsequent conversations, Moses receives Grace.  Then he’s asked to risk it by going back to Egypt.

As the story goes, Moses returns to Pharaoh to tell him that God said – ‘let My people go.’  Not only did that take courage but consider the risk that Moses took – he was risking his life by being obedient.

Back to my word – Risk.

For years, I’ve known about the Grace that God gave me but I didn’t want to risk stepping out and doing what God has called me to do.  I was afraid of my past.  Afraid of people thinking about me in a certain way.  Afraid that I’d fail again.

This changes today.

By taking the Risk of Grace, I place myself under His grace.  I take the Risk of Grace by being obedient in what He tells me to do.  True, there might be some suffering involved [remember the plagues and the problems Moses faced with the people], but in the end, it is “all worth it.”

However, without taking the risk [putting myself out there, showing others God has forgiven me and has changed(ing) me] does Grace become obsolete?  I don’t think so, but does then what we do “bring Glory to God”? 

Nasser write towards the end of day 15, “If you and I are serious about following Christ, we can be assured of two things:  suffering and God’s strength to endure it in faith.”

So today, instead of a question, I’m going to challenge you – take the Risk of Grace.

Until tomorrow, work on memorizing Psalm 56:3-4.

Take the Risk – Follow 2 Serve – Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a call to die – day 15: the risk of grace

  1. Dianne says:

    If we are to follow the WORD, we will be put at Risk many times. God will put us in situations we are not comfortable with. But we know God is testing us. Next time “God”, puts us at Risk, just take that one step and God will direct your every move, if you just listen to Him.

  2. Pingback: a call to die – day 23: daily grace | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

