a call to die – day 16: God’s curriculum

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trails of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.  Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”  — James 1:2-4

Being a college student, I can relate to today’s lesson.  Currently, I’m studing Accounting, Human Communication (Speech), and Statistics at my local community college.  I’m about halfway finished with this semester and come fall I will have about nine classes left until graduation. 

Those classes and the other 13 that I have already completed, make up the Associate of Arts in Liberal Arts curriculum.  So far, I’ve enjoyed most of it – however, there were days when I had a test that I would just look at the material and wonder where it was hidden at in my brain.  So far, I’ve passed everything.

However, “God’s curriculum in the school of faith is much different from what most of us want.”  Nasser writes, along with the previous statement, “We look forward to recess; he wants to prepare us for a career in knowing and serving Him.”  However, what do we do – we whine, complain, and don’t want to do the work so when the exam comes, we fail because we’re not prepared.

God’s testing is much different though.  In addition, in His school, the Curriculum is much different.  Nasser lists these in his syllabus:  “Enough 

  • joy to encourage us;
  • love to strengthen us;
  • success to build our confidence;
  • suffering to force us to depend on Him;
  • confusion to make us seek His face.”

So today, as you prepare for the Final Exam, take comfort in knowing that God is there with you.  He’s provided a Curriculum of Study – LIFE – but the answers are within His Word; all you have to do is Study.  Sure, there are tests along the way – they are for strengthening us and drawing us closer to Him.  Sometimes we fail them – but when we do – we ask for forgiveness and move on.    

Remember, “The tests come in all shapes, sizes, and times, and God uses them to produce character and faith deep in our hearts.  That’s His curriculum.  Don’t play hookey from his school” (Nasser, day 16).

Until Monday, Review Isaiah 26:8, Galatians 2:20, and Psalm 56:4-4 until you can say them without looking (Don’t worry, I’m still working on mine too).

 Follow 2 Serve – Love, {Lorna}

 

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a call to die – day 16: God’s curriculum

  1. Pingback: Today is not a good day; I’m being tested and I feel like I’m failing! « BABE IN CHRIST

Leave a Reply

