a call to die – day 17: the crucible of choice

“Going a little farther, He fell with His face to the ground and prayed, ‘My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from Me.  Yet not as I will, but as You will . . .’ He went away a second time and prayed, ‘My Father, if it is not possible for this cup to be taken away unless I drink it, may Your will be done.’”  — Matthew 26:39, 42

Have you ever had to make a choice?  One that meant the difference between life and death.

I haven’t – physically – but spiritually I have.

There was a time in my life where I was so bitter and angry that forgiving certain people who hurt me was not an option.  I wanted to hold on the pain – that way I could remember what they had done to me which kept me from even being near them.

Eventually, Love won out and I forgave both people – choosing life over death.  The hurt and bitterness along with the anger is gone.  Forgiving them was crucial but it was also my crucible of choice.

I did not know exactly what the word crucible meant so a quick on-line search of the Merriam-Webster dictionary gave me this:

  1. a vessel of a very refractory material (as porcelain) used for melting and calcining a substance that requires a high degree of heat
  2. a severe test
  3. a place or situation in which concentrated forces interact to cause or influence change or development

In my crucible of choice, I had to choose to forgive.  I had come to a place in my life where it was crucial that I do so (#3) or else God couldn’t work in my life. 

However, my Crucible of Choice is different from yours.  It was different from the one Jesus had to choose.  Jesus’ crucible of Choice did actually involve Life and Death.  Death so that we could have Life.

Nasser states on day 17 that, “Jesus first asked the Father to take the cup of sacrifice away from Him, but he affirmed his willingness to drink it.  Then when he sensed the Father’s confirmation, he accepted it as final.”  This took place during a time of deep prayer (remember, the disciples fell asleep) when he was placed in a severe test and a place or situation in which concentrated forces interact to cause or influence change or development.

“Between those two moments was a struggle in his soul so titanic in its intensity that the blood vessels in his forehead broke and blood dripped from his face.  The collision of wills took Jesus to the brink.  It takes us there, too” (Nasser, day 17).

Every person has to make the choice to follow God.  For Jesus, He knew that He must follow the Will of God, sacrificing Himself for humanity – taking the sin of the people upon Him.  Sometime’s it’s a daily choice to choose God over the world – to do what God has told us to do over taking the easy way out. 

Thankfully, Jesus didn’t take the easy way out.

So, I ask you today, what choice(s) do you need to make to choose Life over Death.

Until tomorrow, start memorizing Psalm 115:1, 17-18.

Follow 2 Serve – Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a call to die – day 17: the crucible of choice

  1. Dianne says:

    The choice I want is Life, in choosing life you have to give up everything that displeases God. I know that I cannot live every day without displeasing God. But, think about my actions, before I jump into something.

Leave a Reply

