a call to die – day 18: the cross ~ are you beyond it?

“For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.” – John 3:16

The Cross.

What does it mean to you?

To me, it means that I’ve sinned.  It means that God had to send His Son to die for my sins.  It means that Jesus loves me.

The Cross.

Today, we’ve taken the cross and made it a decoration.  Nasser makes this statement, “We wear silver crosses as jewelry, but we’ve forgotten about the real blood on the real wood of Jesus’ cross.”  I wear a cross, but it’s mostly as earrings.  Just now, while typing this, I’m realizing how much I don’t remember what it means to me.  In a sense, by wearing two crosses as earrings, I’ve taken Jesus out of the equation – wearing the two prisoners’ crosses from my ears.  This doesn’t mean that I won’t wear my cross earrings, but the next time I do, I’ll think about what I’m wearing.

I love the way Nasser says, “Everything we say and do needs to be filtered through the sacrifice Christ made on the cross.  At every crossroad in life, the question is not necessarily, ‘What would Jesus do?’, but more accurately, ‘What has he already done on the cross?’ and ‘Will my decision honor the cross?’” 

Today, if we look past the cross, what are we looking past?  Are we looking past the sacrifice Jesus made?  Are we looking past our sin that Jesus took upon Himself while dying on the cross?  Do we think that we are beyond the cross?  That we don’t need the cross. 

We need the cross –  I need the cross. 

The cross ~ are you beyond it?  I don’t want to be.  Jesus died on the Cross.  He sacrificed His life for mine – how can I take that lightly? 

Until tomorrow, Continue to memorize Psalm 115:1, 17-18.

Follow 2 Serve – Love, Lorna

Warning:  The following video contains graphic scenes from the movie, The Passion of the Christ

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a call to die – day 18: the cross ~ are you beyond it?

  1. Becky says:

    Just another thought about the cross. The cross Jesus was on was suppose to be someone else…Barabas. I think Barabas was a type and shadow of us. Jesus took his and ours place and became the bridge between the two eternities…heaven and hell on either side of Him. One recognized Jesus….the other joined the crowd of mockers……Jesus extended himself to both but only one responded to His love.

  2. Dianne says:

    I have ways worn a cross on my neck. I feel it around my neck and I think of Jesus, and how he suffered all the pain for me. I am not worthy.

Leave a Reply

