a call to die – day 20: grow up

“We have much to say about this, but it is hard to explain because you are slow to learn.  In fact, though by this time you ought to be teachers, you need someone to teach you the elementary truths of God’s word all over again.  You need milk, not solid food.”  — Hebrews 5:11-12

It’s day 20, How are you doing?  My prayer is that through these posts there is something that touches your heart as it does mine.  God is good and He’s faithful to share His love.  I’m praying for you – you who read what God has not only laid on David Nasser’s heart but my heart also.  Thank you for continuing on this journey with me. 

Now for today’s lesson.

Learning God’s Word is high on my priority list but sometimes is low on my actual to-do list.  There’s no excuse as to why I don’t learn God’s Word other than “the world” getting in my way.  Sure, I’ve heard the stories from the Bible since I was a child and could tell you several things from the Bible.  However, knowing what the entire Bible says, I don’t.  Nevertheless, I’m working on that. 

Nasser, in his way of wonderfully telling a story, tells of the time that he and his wife were in London.  They had planned to go out to eat at a “nice” restaurant, but inadvertently something happens to her dress and she has to go back to the hotel and change.  Along the way, they come across to men talking about the Bible.  One is Muslim and the other is Christian.  After a few minutes, Nasser joins in the conversation.  To make a long story short, Nasser states, the Muslim “knew more scripture than we knew put together.”

What is the point of that story?  Nasser realized at that time that he was a “spiritual illiterate” and that it “was time for me to grow up in by biblical knowledge.”

Being a student, I’m fully aware of needing to learn the material I’m taught in order to pass the test.  Well, we’re given tests quite often in our lives and to pass those ‘tests’, most of the time we need to know what the Word of God says about certain things.  I’m not saying that you can’t pray and ask God what the answer is, because you can, but He’s given us His word to guide us along this journey.

As a Christian, we should be growing up in Christ.  In 2 Peter 1:7-11, the Holy Spirit speaking through Peter lists some things about Fruitful Growth in our Faith.  Read what He has to say:

“But also for this very reason, giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue, to virtue knowledge, to knowledge self-control, to self-control perseverance, to perseverance godliness, to godliness brotherly kindness, and to brotherly kindness love.  For if these things are yours and abound, you will be neither barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.  For he who lacks these things is shortsighted, even to blindness, and has forgotten that he was cleansed from his old sins.  Therefore, brethren, be even more diligent to make your call and election sure, for if you do these things you will never stumble; for so an entrance will be supplied to you abundantly into the everlasting kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.”  (NKJV, provided by Studylight.org)

Nasser reminds us “When we feel his love and we want to honor him more than anything in the world, our desires change.  Our lifestyle changes.”

I know for me, changing is the hard part.  As is finding the time to study.  But, if learning God’s Word is a priority for me, then I’ll make the time.  According to Nasser, “If you can’t make God’s truth a high priority, you need to reschedule your time.”

So for today’s question, think about what things in your life that prohibits you from taking the time to study and learn God’s Word.  Ask yourself, Am I growing, or am I stuck in a rut?  If you need help with learning how to study God’s Word, I urge to you contact your local church, your Pastor, or speak with a friend who can offer you advice on how to study God’s Word.

Until tomorrow, Review Galatians 2:20, Psalm 56:3-4; and Psalm 115:1, 17-18.

Growing up by Following 2 Serve – Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a call to die – day 20: grow up

  1. Becky Jane says:

    My day always go so much better when scripture study is a part of it! Thanks for such a beautiful post…hope your weekend is great!
    Becky Jane

  2. Dianne says:

    Like Becky Jane, my day is always better if I start out with the Bible. I want to Grow Up, so I can really learn and can talk about the Word.

    • Dianne, don’t be too hard on yourself. I believe you know more about God’s word than you think you do. However, even the smartest of Bible scholars don’t know everything so keep reading and studying – you’re doing great.

Leave a Reply

