a call to die – day 23: daily grace

“The teachers of the law and the Pharisees brought in a woman caught in adultery.  They made her stand before the group and said to Jesus, ‘Teacher, this woman was caught in the act of adultery, in the law Moses commanded us to stone such women.  Now what do You say?’”    – John 8:3-5

Daily Grace.

Yep, that’s what I need.  Daily Grace.

We all do (at least those of us who sin).

I can relate to the woman who is about to be stoned; though, not necessarily in the same type of situation, but because I’m a sinner who is to stand in front of Jesus. 

Jesus, the very One who gives Grace – Daily.

“She deserved death.  Jesus gave her grace.” 

I deserve death.  Jesus gives me grace.

Grace – Nasser, makes the statement that “The more we are aware of our sinfulness, the more we will be aware of God’s grace!” If you’ve ever sinned and asked for forgiveness, you’ll understand what this statement means. 

He also reminds us, “No matter what you’ve [I’ve] done, God’s grace is greater . . . His cookie jar of grace is never empty” (and in my case, they’re chocolate chip cookies.)

However, it’s because of Grace, that we’re forgiven and can forgive.  And, in doing so, Nasser writes, we gain three things:

  • Hope and Assurance that God forgives, God cares, and God provides.
  • Thankfulness
  • And, our motives for obedience are clarified.

So today, remember this:

“We tend to make two mistakes regarding the grace of God:  When things are going well, we don’t even think of God; but when things are going bad, we think it’s so bad that even God can’t fix things” (Nasser, day 23).

And think about this:  What if it were you standing before Jesus with your accusers ready to stone you?

Until tomorrow, continue to memorize and learn Psalm 116:1-2.

Love, {Lorna}

 

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to a call to die – day 23: daily grace

  1. Pingback: Are you a Pharisee? Characteristic #9 - Pharisees are very careless in their speech

  2. Rena says:

    YES! I’m a desperate wretched mess without His grace! I need it hourly. Nay, MORE!

  3. Dianne says:

    If I were standing before God today, he would touch me and say, my child you are forgiving of your sin. Every day I am blessed with God’s “GRACE”, Thank You God for loving all your CHILDREN, and the “GRACE”, you bless us with every day.

Leave a Reply

