a call to die – day 24: our #1 priority

“One of them, an expert in the law, tested him with this question: ’Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?’ Jesus replied:  ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment.  And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.” –Matthew 22:35-40

Love the Lord . . . with all your heart . . . with all your soul . . . with all your mind . . . and love your neighbor as yourself.

Simple words, right?

Some days they’re not so simple.  Oh, I get the love the Lord part – it’s the love your neighbor part that trips me up.  Especially if I’m having a bad day.

But as I was reading today’s lesson, Psalm 15 comes to mind:

LORD, who may abide in Your tabernacle?
            Who may dwell in Your holy hill?
He who walks uprightly,
            And works righteousness,
            And speaks the truth in his heart;
He who does not backbite with his tongue,
             Nor does evil to his neighbor,
            Nor does he take up a reproach against his friend;
In whose eyes a vile person is despised,
             But he honors those who fear the LORD;
            He who swears to his own hurt and does not change;
He who does not put out his money at usury,
            Nor does he take a bribe against the innocent.
He who does these things shall never be moved.

Reads like how to live out Matthew 22:34-40 doesn’t it?

Nasser states, “The number one priority in our lives is to love God, but our love for him is only a response to his incredible love for us.  How much does he love us . . . He gave His life for us [you] [me].”

Love God with all your heart . . . soul . . . and mind . . . and love others as you . . . love yourself . . . because HE loves YOU!

I’ll leave you with Nasser’s version of what Jesus said.

“Loving God above all else, thus bringing glory to him, is the most important thing God wants.  If we love him, we’ll love people.  That’s about it.  Now, go do it.”

Until tomorrow, work on loving God with all your heart . . . soul . . . and mind.

And work on loving others as you love yourself.  That means work on you . . . loving you.

Plus, Review Psalm 56:3-4; Psalm 115:1, 17-18; and Psalm 116:1-2.

Follow 2 Serve – Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a call to die – day 24: our #1 priority

  1. Dianne says:

    This was a powerful message today. In order to be with the Lord, we have to love everyone. Even the people that say, or do bad things to us. We cannot pretend to love them, God knows our thoughts, we must pray for forgiveness and pray for the people that have hurt us. I myself have this SIN in me, I pray to God that I will be able to love everyone in my life. It is very hard, but with God’s love, I know he will guide me. Lord, never give up on me, and keep me always on the correct path.

  2. Pingback: a call to die – day 34: not peace, but a sword | Follow 2 Serve

Leave a Reply

