a call to die – day 25: be reconciled

“Therefore, if you are offering your gift at the altar and there remember that your brother has something against you, leave your gift there in front of the altar.  First go and be reconciled to your brother; then come and offer your gift.”   –   Matthew 5:23-24

I took a look at today’s title and thought what could I say about being reconciled? 

There’s nothing I can say.  But there’s plenty Jesus said about it!

One of the reasons He died was so that we could be reconciled.  Reconciled to God through Him.  Reconciled to others – through Him. 

It’s because of Him that I’m able to ask for forgiveness.  But saying I’m sorry is sometimes the hardest thing to do.

Nasser reminds us that “God uses the light of his presence and his word to show us when we’ve hurt others.”  And it’s when we’re at the altar (“at church, listening to music, reading His word, praying, tithing, or serving”) that when we hear God speak to our hearts about the hurt we’ve caused someone – it’s at that moment that we should do something about it.  “Make the phone call”, write the letter, etc. (Nasser, Day 25)

I’ve made mistakes, we all do, but God calls us to Be Reconciled with one another. Nasser states there are three parts to reconciliation:  confession, repentance, and restitution.  By Confessing, repenting (“express appropriate sorrow”), and making restitution (paying for the damage), “when we take these steps, God is honored through our obedience.” 

And here is how you do it – say to the person:  I’m sorry, please forgive me for _____. And let God handle the rest.  Say to God:  I’m sorry, please forgive me.  Say to yourself:   God has forgiven me.

Chris August recently recorded this song, 7×70, which speaks about forgiveness.  Take a minute to listen the video.  Until tomorrow, start memorizing Psalm 86:11-12.

PS – if while you’re asking for forgiveness, and the person you’re asking forgiveness from has hurt you as well, forgive them as well. 

Follow 2 Serve – Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a call to die – day 25: be reconciled

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Lorna, this is so true…I can remember being hurt very badly by someone I went to church with and being unable to forgive her. One Sunday during communion I saw her partaking of the same loaf I was about to eat from, and dipping in the same cup I was about to dip in to, and I knew I was eating and drinking death to myself as long as I did not forgive her, so I did, and oh the relief I felt. This is a really good post today.

  2. Dianne says:

    When we hold on to “Hurt”, it is doing more harm to us. But at the same time it is hard to humble ourselves and ask the person for forgiveness, and yes even to ask God. But it does lift the heavy yoke off our shoulder and we can get back on the right track.

Leave a Reply

