a call to die – day 27: speak the truth

“And do not swear by your head, for you cannot make even one hair white or black.  Simply let your ‘Yes’ be ‘Yes,’ and your ‘No’ be ‘No’; anything beyond this comes from the evil one.” – Matthew 5:36-37

As a mom, I can usually tell when my boys are lying.  However, there are times when I can’t.  I have to trust what they say unless a lie is revealed.  I’ve always told them that if they have done something wrong, 1) to tell the truth and 2) if you’re lying, the truth will always come out.  I will find out, eventually. 

My oldest found out the hard way one day when I met him at the door with my hands outstretched.  Phones and iPods are not allowed at my sons’ schools and when I asked my oldest if he was keeping his in his vehicle, he assured me he was.

For some reason, I needed to check my account on-line, and while there, I clicked the link that gives me the number of messages sent and received for the month.  Well, guess what.  My oldest’s is the first to come up and there are messages being sent during the time that he is supposed to be in class.

They say that moms have eyes in the back of our heads.  Nope, this is not true; Moms just know their children, and if they have a relationship with the Lord, if they ask, He will let us know what our children are doing (maybe not specifically, but enough of a nudge to check things out.)

So children, if you are reading this post, don’t lie to your parents, they will find out!

It would have been much easier for my son to tell me the truth than to lie to me about the phone and the iPod.  {And, yes, he did lose them for a week.}

But, we’re the same way – us adults – we lie.  Sometimes intentionally (to cover a sin) or unintentionally.  Either way, it’s a lie.  We even “engage in a form of deception that we don’t think of as lying, but it is,” Nasser says on Day 27.  Exaggeration. 

Exaggeration makes things sound better than they are – like the old fish story where the one fisherman says that he (or she) caught a fish that is a foot long when in actuality it’s only as long as their hand.  We tell them to make us look good, but it’s still lying, and it’s still a sin.  Forgiveness and Repentance is needed.

Nasser offers the perfect reason for us to tell the truth, especially as Christians.  He says, “One of the reasons to be honest with each other is that we are connected to each other.”

Christians, the body of Christ, should be setting the example.  It makes it hard for a non-Christian to believe us, if we are caught telling a lie.  “Remember,” Nasser writes, “if we call ourselves Christians, we are to be the very example of the one who is ‘the way, the truth, and the life’” (John 14:6).

Therefore, until tomorrow, let your ‘Yes’ be ‘Yes,’ and your ‘No’ be ‘No.’

Also, continue to learn Psalm 86:11-12.

Follow 2 Serve – Love, Lorna



About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a call to die – day 27: speak the truth

  1. Dianne says:

    My, Mother caught me lying when I was very young, I had taken something that was not mine from her friend’s child. It was a little round dish belonging to a tea set, which I thought was pretty, so I just put it in my coat pocket. She found it after we got home, well needless to say, we had to drive back and she made me tell the little girl and her mother what I had done. I felt so little and thought God would never love someone like me for lying. I was taught two lessons that day, which I will never forget, do not lie and do not steal. That happened over 60 years ago and I still remember that day.

Leave a Reply

