a call to die – day 28: don’t take revenge

“You have heard that it was said, ‘Eye for Eye, and Tooth for Tooth.’  But I tell you, do not resist an evil person.  If someone strikes you on the right cheek, turn to him the other also.” – Matthew 5:38-39

As one who has been hurt, this verse is hard to obey.  All that is within me wants to take revenge.  But I can’t.  Why?  Because Jesus said not to.

Still, the hurt hurts.  So what do I do about it?

Forgive.

Plain and Simple:  Forgive because Christ forgave me.

Nasser puts it this way:  “I believe it is important for us to absorb two important truths in order to forgive those who hurt us:  Our ability to forgive others comes from our experience of being forgiven for our own sins, and we can leave justice in God’s righteous hands.”

Nasser also writes, “when we refuse to forgive people who have hurt us, all kinds of bad things happen to us: {How true this is!}

  • We become bitter.
  • Our hatred drives wedges in our relationships.
  • We could experience psychosomatic [physical] problems.

However, according to Nasser, there are ways to prevent ourselves from being vengeful:

  • Reflect on the cross and drink deeply of God’s grace for your own sins,
  • Get in the word and ask God to help you have the discipline to forgive that person, just as God in Christ forgave you, and
  • Ask the Holy Spirit to help you pray for that person so he can experience the love and forgiveness of Christ.

Forgiveness.

Necessary and required.

Until Monday, may you be blessed by Him.  Review Psalm 115:1, 17-18; Psalm 116:1-2; and Psalm 86:11-12.

Follow 2 Serve – Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a call to die – day 28: don’t take revenge

  1. Dianne says:

    It was very hard for me to pray for people that hurt me. But after reading in the Bible, I was suppose to Pray and Forgive these people, I didn’t want to, they had hurt me! The more I read the Bible it opened my eyes, we only hurt ourselves and let evil in when we judge these people. Now that I pray for these people, a burden has been lifted off me. God died for me and them also, we are all His children.

Leave a Reply

