a call to die – day 30: hold things loosely

I’m taking a slight side step today to tell my oldest son,

Happy 18th Birthday!

It’s hard to believe you’re 18 already.  You’ll graduate exactly a month from today – and then I’ll have to let you go (but not all the way).  Go into the world and enjoy your life.  You’ll always have a home and my prayers will always include you. 

I love you son, Happy Birthday!

 

 “But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret.  Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you” – Mathew 6:3-4

I find it interesting that today’s lesson is about Holding Things Loosely since I’m having to let go of my son and allow him to grow up.  As much as I want to hold on to him, I must let him go – hold him loosely.

It’s the same way when we’re called to give something away.  We want to hold onto our possessions (they can be time, money, things) instead of giving them away to those who need them more than we do.

Nasser writes in today’s lesson, that “In most cases, we don’t own our possession.  They own us.”  However, “Giving, not acquiring, is the lifestyle of the person who is sold out to Jesus Christ.”

Nasser tells us of several ways that Paul, the writer of Corinthians, gives about the principles of giving:

  • Give generously; “Remember this:  Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously” (2 Corinthians 9:6).
  • Give cheerfully; “Each man should give what he had decided in his heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver” (2 Corinthians 9:7).
  • Don’t compare; “For if the willingness is there, the gift is acceptable according to what one has, not according to what he does not have” (2 Corinthians 8:12).
  • Give something of value; Nasser writes, “In most cases, we give money because it can be distributed to meet needs very easily.  But we can also give other things we value:  time, energy, and possessions.”

Time, money, and possessions:  things most of us have.  It’s what we do with them that make a difference. 

Which things can you hold loosely?

Until tomorrow, continue to learn Psalm 91:1-3.

Follow 2 Serve – Love, {Lorna}

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a call to die – day 30: hold things loosely

  1. Dianne says:

    Loved your writing about your son, he will turn out Great, he has a caring and loving Mother, God Bless you both.
    I find my out look on life has changed, I no longer hang on to possessions, and money , but mostly I give of my time, and prayers for those who are sick and hurting in the Church, and feed the hungry.

Leave a Reply

