a call to die – day 31: praying

“And when you pray, do not keep on babbling like pagans, for they think they will be heard because of their many words.  Do not be like them, for your Father knows what you need before you ask Him.”  — Matthew 6:7-8

“We believe more in the ‘power of prayer’ than in the power of God.”

That’s a very powerful statement.  Nasser makes that statement in the first paragraph of Day 31.  It’s one I’ve never thought of – but how much of it is true with my prayers? 

If I believe in the “power of prayer”, does that mean that I believe that by my prayers I can change God’s mind?  It’s possible – Moses did – but probably not likely.  Nasser puts it this way – the purpose of praying “is to get our hearts in line with His will and His Spirit.”

Nasser also lists other purposes of praying; such as “to give us a vehicle to praise and worship him and help us know God and discover his will.”  Honestly, I knew about the “know Him” part and to “discover His will” part, but the “give us a vehicle to praise and worship” I’ve really never thought about that. 

However, after reading today’s lesson, I understand that as I pray, in an attitude of praise and worship, this is how I learn more about the character of God (Nasser, day 31).

And the only way to do that is to “Listen!”

Listening is a big part of praying.  Listening is when the Holy Spirit speaks to us (and usually the only way to hear Him is to be quiet).  Listening, after speaking, is when the Holy Spirit brings to mind passages of Scripture as answers to our prayers.

Listening.  It can be a hard thing to master for those who love to talk, but Jesus told us not to keep on ‘babbling like pagans’, but that ‘the Father knows what we need before we ask Him.’  Therefore, sometimes a simple request and then spend the rest of the time listening – answers will come {but sometimes not right then, sometimes we have to wait}.

Spending time in prayer is the way to learning God’s heart and character.  Paul writes in 1 Thessalonians 5:17 to “Pray continually.”  Nasser says, “This simply means to constantly try to be in a receptive, communicative position with God.  In other words, speaking to God and then listening for His still small voice. 

In addition, while “praying at church is good and necessary,” Nasser writes, sometimes “there are also things God wants to tell you that must be told in private.”

With that, spending time alone in prayer, in our prayer closets, is part of the Pray continually that Paul writes about.  Nasser ends day 31 with this:  “Prayer is not magic.  It is a holy conversation between the Creator of the Universe and his beloved child and friend.”

So, my question for you today is – Praying, are you doing it continually?

Until Tomorrow,

Read and learn Psalm 91:1-3

Love, {Lorna}

PS – I’m praying for you!

About Follow 2 Serve {Lorna}

I am a follower of Christ and I love to serve Him. I am married with two sons. I received my Liberal Arts Associate Degree in May of 2012. My hobbies are reading, crocheting, quilting, knitting, nature photography, and being with my sons.
This entry was posted in a call to die, Books, Follow, Holidays, Serve and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a call to die – day 31: praying

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Really good information today. I am praying for you too Lorna, God Bless you!

  2. Dianne says:

    Praying for you Lorna.
    I have quiet moments in Prayer with God. But I find myself as I am do housework, I am praying, working in the yard, God is with me. I listen for Him.

Leave a Reply

